Map of DSHS Border Area

The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) border area is defined as the area within 100 kilometers (or 62 miles) of the Rio Grande in the La Paz Agreement of 1983. This includes the 32 Texas Border Counties listed below and Mexico.

"A map highlights DSHS offices, Texas counties and Mexican states along the Texas-Mexico border"
The Texas DSHS Border Area
Brewster La Salle
Brooks Maverick
Cameron McMullen
Crockett Pecos
Culberson Presidio
Dimmit Real
Duval Reeves
Edwards Starr
El Paso Sutton
Frio Terrell
Hidalgo Uvalde
Hudspeth Val Verde
Jeff Davis Webb
Jim Hogg Willacy
Kenedy Zapata
Kinney Zavala