WHAT CAN YOU DO?

Public awareness is key towards ensuring expedient access to the Texas Silver Alert Program. Together, we can all help towards saving the lives of others.

- It is advisable that all Texas senior citizens,
 65 years and older with an impaired mental condition, have documentation of that condition.
- The Texas DPS recommends obtaining a signed and dated statement (issued on physician's letterhead), diagnosing the impaired mental condition.
- Discuss obtaining proper documentation with caregivers and legal guardians, before a wandering incident takes place.
- If a risk for wandering has been identified in the patient, refer the family to the Alzheimer's Association for information on wandering triggers and prevention at www.alz.org or (800) 272-3900.
- Encourage families to create a wandering person profile containing the name, date of birth, current photo, physical description, clothing description, documented diagnosis, vehicle information, license plate number, and a list of previous residences and favorite places.

alzheimer's \mathcal{R} association



Contact Information:

ALZHEIMER'S ASSOCIATION Capital of Texas Chapter Greater Dallas Chapter Houston & Southeast Texas Chapter North Central Texas Chapter San Antonio and South Texas West Texas www.alz.org (800) 272-3900

ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE PROGRAM Texas Department of State Health Services http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/alzheimers/default.shtm (800) 242-3399

TEXAS DIVISION OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT Texas Department of Public Safety http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/dem/pages/index.htm (512) 424-2208

Training Information:

If your organization would like training regarding the Texas Silver Alert Program, contact the State AMBER Alert Program Coordinator at (512) 424-2208.

PHYSICIAN'S GUIDE



Texas Silver Alert Program

Alzheimer's Association Texas Department of State Health Services Texas Division of Emergency Management

SILVER ALERT NETWORK

In response to legislation enacted September I, 2007, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) implemented the Texas Silver Alert Network as a means to assist law enforcement in the recovery of missing senior citizens statewide. Silver Alerts typically resemble those alerts issued for abducted children (AMBER Alerts), using similar notification technologies (with the exception of the Emergency Alert System - EAS) to alert the public.

ACTIVATION

All six (6) criteria must be met in order to activate the Network:

- Is the missing person 65 years of age or older?
- Is the senior citizen's domicile in Texas?
- Does the senior citizen have a diagnosed impaired mental condition, and does the senior citizen's disappearance pose a credible threat to the senior citizen's health and safety? (Law enforcement shall require the family or legal guardian of the missing senior citizen to provide documentation from a medical or mental health professional of the senior citizen's condition).
- Is it confirmed that an investigation has taken place verifying that the senior citizen's

disappearance is due to his/her impaired mental condition, and alternative reasons for the senior citizen's disappearance have been ruled out?

- Is the Silver Alert request within 72 hours of the senior citizen's disappearance?
- Is there sufficient information available to disseminate to the public that could assist in locating the senior citizen? (Highway signs will be activated only if accurate vehicle information is available AND it is confirmed that the senior citizen was driving the vehicle at the time of the disappearance).
 Once the DPS has confirmed that the law enforcement request meets the above criteria, the Texas Division of Emergency Management immediately notifies the following for dissemination of information within the advisory area:
- Local, state and federal law enforcement agencies;
- Participating media outlets;
- Texas Department of Transportation Highway Signs (if applicable per criteria);
- Texas Lottery Commission; and
- Independent Bankers Association of Texas.

DOCUMENTATION

The DPS recommends obtaining a signed and dated statement issued on a physician's letterhead, diagnosing the impaired mental condition. In those circumstances where the family or legal guardian has not obtained this type of documentation, the physician can release this information directly to law enforcement. According to the Texas Code of Criminal Procedures, Art. 63.007. RELEASE OF MEDICAL RECORDS. (a) At the time a report is made for a missing child or adult, the law enforcement officer taking the report shall give a medical release form to the parent, spouse, adult child, or legal guardian who is making the report. The officer receiving the report shall endorse the form with the notation that a missing child or missing adult report has been made in compliance with this chapter. When the form is properly completed by the parent, spouse, adult child, or legal guardian, and contains the endorsement, the form is sufficient to permit any physician, health care facility, or other licensed health care provider in this state to release to the law enforcement officer presenting the release dental records, blood-type, height, weight, X rays, and information regarding scars, allergies, or any unusual illnesses suffered by the person who is reported missing.