

Office of Border Public Health

Task Force of Border Health Officials

Statutorily mandated	Jurisdiction	Role/voting status	Public Health Region
(Alphabetical order by last name)	(County/City)		
Richard Chamberlain, DrPH Public Health Department Director	City of Laredo	voting member	11
Esmeralda Guajardo, MAHS Health Administrator	Cameron County	voting member	11
Shannon Harvill Environmental Health Director	City of Harlingen	voting member	11
Steven M. Kotsatos, RS, CPM Environmental Health, Vector and Animal Control Director	City of Mission	voting member	11
Dairen Sarmiento Rangel, MBA Health and Human Services Director	Hidalgo County	voting member	11
Arturo Rodriguez, DNP, MPH, CPM Health, Wellness and Animal Services Department Director	City of Brownsville	Chair/voting member	11
Veerinder "Vinny" Taneja, MBBS, MPH Department of Public Health Director	City of El Paso	Vice-Chair/voting member	9/10
Niko Tapangan, MPH RS Department of Public Health Director	City of Pharr	voting member	11
Nancy P. Treviño Environmental Health and Code Enforcement Department Director	City of McAllen	voting member	11
Ex-officio Appointees			
Vacant	Lieutenant Governor	non-voting member	
State Representative R.D. "Bobby" Guerra	Speaker of the House	non-voting member	11
DSHS Appointees			
Emily Prot, DO, MPH	PHR 11 RMD	voting member	11
Lillian Ringsdorf, MD, MPH	PHR 8 RMD	voting member	8
Vacant	PHR 9/10 RMD	voting member	9/10

Contact Texas Department of State Health Services for more information.

Office of Border Public Health: OBPH@dshs.texas.gov or 512-865-7380