# State Child Fatality Review Team (SCFRT) Committee

Friday, February 14, 2025

9:00 a.m.
APPROVED Meeting Minutes
Virtual: Teams Meeting Platform

In Person Meeting Site: Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Robert D. Moreton Building, Room M-100, First Floor
1100 49th Street, Austin, Texas 78756

# Agenda Item 1: Call to Order, Roll Call, and Welcoming Remarks

Chief Michael Hayes, Chair, called the SCFRT Committee meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Chief Hayes welcomed committee members, staff, and members of the public in attendance.

Francesca Kupper, Advisory Committee Coordination Office, Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) read the logistical announcements and stated the meeting was being conducted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act. Ms. Kupper conducted the member roll call and announced the presence of quorum.

Table 1: SCFRT Committee member attendance at the February 14, 2025, meeting.

Member name	Attended	Member name	Attended
Ms. Lindsey Anzaldua	Y	Dr. Natalie Kissoon	Υ
Ms. Lauren Butschek- Neisler	Y	Ms. Natalie Lopez	Υ
Dr. Tara Das	Y	<b>Chief Onesimo Lopez</b>	Υ
<b>Sheriff Christopher Forbis</b>	N	Dr. Savannah Lusk	Υ
Ms. Lori Gabbert Charney	Y	Ms. Letty Martinez	N
Judge Joanne Garcia Flores	Y	Mr. Sergio Martinez	Υ
Ms. Katia Gonzalez	Y	Ms. LaViza Matthews	Υ

Member name	Attended	Member name	Attended
Ms. Donna Hansen	Υ	Ms. Maricela Morales	Y
Chief Michael Hayes, Chair	Y	Dr. Jennifer Ross	Y
Stacey Head	Y	Dr. Lawrence Thompson, Jr., Vice Chair	Y
Sergeant Ryan Howard	Y	Dr. Davlyn Tillman	Y
Ms. Wykesha Kelley- Dixon	Y	The Honorable State Representative Gene Wu	Y

# Agenda Item 2: Consideration of November 8, 2024, Draft Meeting Minutes

Chief Hayes referred members to the draft minutes emailed by the program liaison and called for any edits. Hearing none, Chief Hayes called for a motion to approve the November 8, 2024, meeting minutes.

**Motion:** Dr. Thompson moved to approve the November 8, 2024, meeting minutes as presented. Ms. Gabbert Charney seconded the motion. Following a roll call vote, the motion passed by a majority vote with 22 yeas (Anzaldua, Butschek-Neisler, Gabbert Charney, Das, Garcia Flores, Gonzalez, Hansen, Hayes, Head, Howard, Kelley-Dixon, Kissoon, N. Lopez, O. Lopez, Lusk, S. Martinez, Matthews, Morales, Ross, Thompson, Tillman, Wu), 0 nays, and 0 abstentions.

### Agenda Item 3: Consideration of Open Committee Member Position

Chief Hayes announced this agenda item is to provide the permanent members the opportunity to consider and vote on the open SCFRT Committee positions. Ms. Kupper announced the permanent committee members: Dr. Tara Das, Ms. Lori Gabbert Charney, Ms. Letty Martinez, Mr. Sergio Martinez, and the Honorable State Representative Gene Wu, and noted that the Governor's representative position is currently vacant.

Ms. Sarah Blezinger announced the candidate for the Sheriff position is Brian Thomas. Ms. Kupper called on each of the permanent members to record their individual vote for the Sheriff member position:

Dr. Tara Das voted for Sheriff Brian Thomas.

Ms. Lori Gabbert Charney voted for Sheriff Brian Thomas.

Mr. Sergio Martinez voted for Sheriff Brian Thomas.

The Honorable State Representative Gene Wu voted for Sheriff Brian Thomas.

Motion carried to select Sheriff Brian Thomas for the vacant position.

#### **Agenda Item 4: Member Orientation**

Chief Hayes advised members the next 105 minutes will focus on new member orientation presentations.

Ms. Blezinger provided an overview of the SCFRT.

Ms. Kupper reviewed the ACCO New Member Orientation process.

Ms. Morgan Constantino, Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) attorney in the policy department, legal services division, trained on the Open Meetings Act.

The Committee then viewed Advisory Committee Ethics as a video.

Chief Hayes thanked all presenters.

#### **Agenda Item 5: Consideration of SCFRT Bylaws**

Chief Hayes referred members to the draft Bylaws emailed by the program liaison and called for any edits. Hearing none, Chief Hayes called for a motion to approve the SCFRT Bylaws.

**Motion:** Dr. Thompson moved to approve the bylaws as presented. Representative Wu seconded the motion. Following a roll call vote, the motion passed by a majority vote with 20 yeas (Butschek-Neisler, Gabbert Charney, Garcia Flores, Gonzalez, Hansen, Hayes, Head, Howard, Dixon, Kissoon, N. Lopez, O. Lopez, Lusk, S. Martinez, Matthews, Morales, Ross, Thompson, Tillman, Wu), 0 nays, and 0 abstentions.

### Agenda Item 6: Consideration of the Child Fatality Review Team Operations Protocol

Chief Hayes announced this agenda item is tabled.

#### **Agenda Item 8: Public comment**

No public comment was received.

### Agenda Item 9: Comments, Adjournment, and Thank You

Chief Hayes noted the next SCFRT meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. May 9, 2025. Chief Hayes adjourned the meeting at 10:36 a.m.

Below is the link to the archived video recording of the February 14, 2025, SCFRT Committee meeting to view and listen for approximately two years from the date the meeting is posted in accordance with the HHSC records retention schedule.

State Child Fatality Review Team Committee Meeting