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Executive Summary 

The State Child Fatality Review Team Committee (committee) biennial report is 
prepared in compliance with Texas Family Code, Section 264.503(f). The report 
contains aggregate child fatality data from local child fatality review teams (CFRTs), 
recommendations to prevent child fatalities and injuries, and recommendations to 
the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) on child protective 
services operations based on input from the committee.  

The committee works with local CFRTs to provide recommendations about injury 
prevention activities. Recommendations relate to changing current statute, 
increasing public education, and how best to strengthen existing systems. 

To support the committee in developing this report, the Department of Health 
Services (DSHS) calculated child fatality statistics from death data files. These 
statistics are based on the most currently available data – 2016 finalized death 
files. Data for more recent years have yet to be finalized.  

In 2016, the Texas child death rate remained consistent with previous years. There 
were 3,858 child deaths in Texas in 2016, and active local CFRTs reviewed 1,244 
(approximately 32 percent) of the total child deaths.  

Recommendations to the Governor and Legislature 

1. Repeal of Texas Education Code, Section 1001.112. This statute allows a 
parent, legal guardian, step-parent, or grandparent to provide a driver 
education course to eligible minors 16-18 years of age. 

2. Pass legislation that requires new residential swimming pools to have a 
circumferential isolation pool fence installed that is at least four feet in height 
and completely separates the house and play area of the yard from the pool. 

3. Amend Texas Family Code, Section 261.102 to require professionals to report 
to DFPS all cases of children less than six years old who have died due to 
unexplained or non-natural causes, excluding motor-vehicle occupant deaths 
unless there is suspicion of alcohol or substance use. 

4. Fund CFRT Coordinators in each of the DSHS Public Health Service Regions 
as recommended by the Protect Our Kids Commission. 

5. Amend Texas Transportation Code, Section 545.412 to create an additional 
offense related to rear-facing child passenger restraint systems. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.264.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/ED/htm/ED.1001.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.261.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.545.htm
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Recommendation to DFPS 

1. Establish a dedicated and secure DFPS Hotline 800 number for all medical 
personnel to reduce wait-times for mandated medical professionals during 
critical and often time-sensitive interactions with potential child abuse 
situations.  
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1. Introduction 

Per Texas Family Code, Section 264.503(f), the State Child Fatality Review Team 
Committee (committee) is required to report aggregate child fatality data collected 
by local CFRTs and recommendations from the committee and local CFRTs to 
prevent child fatalities and injuries. The committee is also required to provide 
recommendations to the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) on 
child protective services operations based on input from the child safety review 
subcommittee. The child safety review subcommittee is an internal DFPS committee 
that meets quarterly to discuss recommendations to improve DFPS practices and 
prevent child deaths. 

The report is made to the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and the Speaker of the 
House of Representatives no later than April 1 of each even-numbered year. 

To satisfy the requirements of statute, the following report presents: 

● Committee recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature on 
preventing child fatalities and injuries, 

● General child fatality statistics based on 2016 finalized death data files, and 
● Aggregate child fatality data collected by local CFRTs.  

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.264.htm
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2. Background 

Child fatality review is a public health strategy used to understand child deaths 
through multi-disciplinary review at the local level. Deaths are reviewed and data 
are collected and analyzed to best understand risks to children. Child fatality review 
is practiced in each state in the United States and in other countries.   

In 1995, Texas enacted legislation establishing the State Child Fatality Review 
Team Committee (committee) and authorized counties to form local and regional 
Child Fatality Review Teams (CFRT). 

Committee members serve three-year terms and are a multi-disciplinary group of 
professionals representing law enforcement, the medical community, child advocacy 
organizations, the court system, the behavioral health community, and other state 
agencies. Committee members are also required to be members of their local CFRT.  

During the 85th Legislature, Regular Session, 2017, House Bill 1549 added three 
permanent members to the committee: a member appointed by and representing 
the Speaker of the House of Representatives; a member appointed by and 
representing the Lieutenant Governor; and a member appointed by and 
representing the Governor. For a complete list of committee membership, see 
Appendix A. House Bill 1549 made other substantial changes to statute that defines 
the committee and local CFRT structure and activities. These changes are outlined 
below in Appendix B. 

The committee meets quarterly to: 

● Develop an understanding of the causes and incidences of child death in 
Texas; 

● Identify procedures within agencies represented on the committee to reduce 
the number of preventable child deaths; and 

● Promote public awareness and make recommendations to the Governor and 
Legislature for changes in law, policy, and practice to reduce the number of 
preventable child deaths.  

Local CFRTs are volunteer-based and organized by county or multi-county 
geographic areas. Membership mirrors that of the committee. Local CFRTs conduct 
retrospective reviews of deaths of children 17 years of age or younger in their 
geographic areas.  

https://capitol.texas.gov/BillLookup/History.aspx?LegSess=85R&Bill=HB1549
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As of December 2019, there were 83 active local CFRTs covering 211 of the 254 
Texas counties resulting in 94 percent of Texas children residing in a county where 
child deaths are reviewed. In 2016, there were 3,858 child deaths in Texas in 2016 
and active local CFRTs reviewed 1,244 (approximately 32 percent) of the total child 
deaths. 

Since the 2018 Legislative Report, the local CFRT death certificate distribution 
process changed considerably at both the state and local level due to the 
requirement for DSHS to provide local CFRTs with electronic access to preliminary 
death certificates. Previously, death certificates were distributed by mail at an 18-to 
24-month delay after the death occurred.  

The electronic death certificate distribution process has evolved and improved 
during the past two years. The process started with teams primarily accessing the 
death certificate information from the NCFRP online case report system. After 
receiving local CFRT feedback regarding data needed from the death certificate to 
conduct a complete review, the electronic case distribution was expanded and 
improved. Local CFRTs currently receive a secure electronic spreadsheet with death 
certificate information. As of December 2019, local CFRTs received death certificate 
information through July 2019.  
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3. State Child Fatality Review Team Committee 
Recommendations 

Local Child Fatality Review Teams (CFRTs) receive death certificate information 
from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to identify child deaths that 
occurred in their community. The local CFRTs then conduct a retrospective review 
of deaths of children 17 years of age or younger in their geographic areas. Team 
members collect and provide information that corresponds to their disciplines and 
specific questions from the National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention 
(NCFRP) database at the review meeting. Members meet to share what each 
member knows about the cases being reviewed, such as incident circumstances, 
and to identify risk factors. A major purpose of these reviews is to determine if a 
child’s death was preventable.1  

Local CFRTs enter the data collected during reviews in the NCFRP database. The 
data collected and lessons learned from local CFRT fatality reviews inform 
recommendations to the State Child Fatality Review Team Committee (committee), 
which are submitted to DSHS. The committee reviews, discusses, and votes on 
each recommendation submitted by local CFRTs. Recommendations are included in 
the biennial report and are used to inform local and statewide prevention activities 
with the aim of reducing preventable deaths. 

The most recent year for which all local CFRTs have completed their review of child 
fatality cases is 2016. Their review and recommendations – in addition to other 
research conducted by the committee - form the basis of the committee’s 
recommendations in this report. A DSHS analysis of 2016 death data files is also 
presented in Appendix C. Aggregate data from local CFRTs are presented in 
Appendix D.  

Local CFRTs submitted 14 recommendations for the committee to review for this 
report. Each recommendation was voted on by the committee at the quarterly 
meeting on November 15, 2019. The below recommendations were approved by 
the committee. 

                                       

1 Per the NCFRP database, a child's death is considered to be preventable if an individual or 
the community could reasonably have done something that would have changed the 
circumstances that led to the child's death. 
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Recommendations to the Governor and Legislature 

Recommendation 1: Repeal of Texas Education Code, Section 1001.112 
Parent-Taught Driver Education which allows a parent, legal guardian, 
step-parent, or grandparent to provide a driver education course to eligible 
minors 16-18 years of age. 

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of unintentional injury death for youth 
in the United States (U.S.) from 10-24 years of age.2 The Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC) reported in 2017 that 2,364 teens in the U.S. aged 
16-19 were killed in motor vehicle crashes.3 This statistic translates to six teens per 
day dying in motor vehicle crashes. Males had a two times higher rate of motor 
vehicle crash death than females 16-19 years of age in 2017.4 

In Texas, 106 youth ages 15-17 years died in a motor vehicle crash in 2016. Local 
CFRTs reviewed 56 of those crashes and found that 36 percent of the deaths were 
the driver of the vehicle and 28.5 percent were the passenger. Speed and reckless 
driving were the top two factors identified by local CFRTs as contributing to the 
motor vehicle crashes for the 15-17-year-old age group.  

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and Texas Transportation 
Institute published a study in April 2007 called Parent-Taught Driver Education in 
Texas: A Comparative Evaluation.5 The study reported that nearly 40 percent of the 
218,054 driver education certificates issued in Texas in 2004-2005 were from 
parent-taught driver education (PTDE), and PTDE youth were obtaining driver’s 
permits at a slightly younger age. 

Although the study cites few self-reported differences in driving knowledge and 
skills related to the type of driver education, the study reviewed driving records and 
found that PTDE drivers demonstrated lower driving knowledge early in their 
training, inferior driving skills compared to their professionally-trained peers, and a 
lower rate of passing the state-administered driving test on the first attempt. 

                                       
2 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Ten Leading Causes of Death and Injury. US Department of health and Human 
Services; https://www.cdc.gov/injury/images/lc-
charts/leading_causes_of_death_by_age_group_unintentional_2017_1100w850h.jpg; Accessed 9 Jan. 2020. 
3 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Teen Drivers Fact Sheet. US Department of health and Human Services; 
https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/teen_drivers/teendrivers_factsheet.html. Accessed 9 Jan. 2020. 
4 Institute of Highway Safety (IIHS). Fatality Facts 2018: Teenagers. https://www.iihs.org/topics/fatality-
statistics/detail/teenagers. Accessed 13 Jan 2020. 
5 U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “Parent-Taught Driver Education in Texas: A 
Comparative Evaluation.” (2007). (Report No. DOT HS 810 760). Parent-Taught Driver Education in Texas: A Comparative 
Evaluation, www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/parent-taught_driver_ed.pdf. Accessed 6 Dec. 2019. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/ED/htm/ED.1001.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/injury/images/lc-charts/leading_causes_of_death_by_age_group_unintentional_2017_1100w850h.jpg
https://www.cdc.gov/injury/images/lc-charts/leading_causes_of_death_by_age_group_unintentional_2017_1100w850h.jpg
https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/teen_drivers/teendrivers_factsheet.html
https://www.iihs.org/topics/fatality-statistics/detail/teenagers
https://www.iihs.org/topics/fatality-statistics/detail/teenagers
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Furthermore, PTDE novice drivers committed more traffic offenses and were in 
more crashes after receiving their full license. When supervision is eliminated (full 
licensure), then PTDE students were involved in more traffic convictions and 
increasingly serious motor vehicle crashes. 

Given the increased risk of serious injury and death experienced by minor drivers 
and their passengers, and the lack of any requirement for parents who teach driver 
education to demonstrate driving knowledge, skills, or Department of Public Safety 
monitoring, the committee recommends repealing legislation allowing for parent- or 
guardian-taught driver education. 

Recommendation 2: Pass legislation that requires new residential 
swimming pools have a circumferential isolation pool fence installed that is 
at least four feet in height and completely separates the house and play 
area of the yard from the pool.  

Drowning is the leading cause of injury death in children one to four years of age 
and the second leading cause of unintentional injury death among children five to 
nine years of age in the U.S.2 In 2017, over 800 children and adolescents, ages 0-
17 years, died in the U.S. due to drowning.6 

In 2016, there were 67 children 1-4 years of age who died due to drowning in 
Texas. There were 33 children in this age group who died in a swimming pool due 
to drowning, and local CFRTs reviewed 54 percent of the deaths. Local CFRTs 
recorded that only 22 percent of the reviewed cases indicated a pool fence at the 
incident scene. 

In 2019, the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) updated drowning prevention 
recommendations for families, including installation of a four-sided, four-foot tall 
fence with self-closing and self-latching gates that completely isolates the pool from 
the house. The AAP also recommended that policymakers pass state or local 
legislation or building code that mandates new and existing residential pools have a 
four-sided isolation fence.7  

Research has shown that nearly half of swimming pool drownings and near 
drownings occur in a home or private swimming pool, and at least 80 percent of 

                                       
6 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System). US 
Department of Health and Human Services; https://webappa.cdc.gov/cgi-bin/broker.exe; Accessed 9 Jan. 2020.  
7 Pediatrics: Official Journal of the American Academy of Pediatrics. “Prevention of Drowning.” Prevention of Drowning/American 
Academy of Pediatrics, 1 May 2019, https://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/143/5/e20190850. 

https://webappa.cdc.gov/cgi-bin/broker.exe
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children have access to the pool from the house or yard. Four-sided isolation 
fencing around the pool itself is part of a multi-layered method to prevent a child’s 
access to the pool.8  

Currently in the U.S., 25 states have a law in place in regards to pool fences.  Some 
states use the 2009 International Residential Code or 2009 International Building 
Code, which specifies the requirements of swimming pool fences.  

Recommendation 3: Amend  Texas Family Code, Section 261.102  to report 
to the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) all children 
less than six years old who have died due to unexplained or non-natural 
causes, excluding motor-vehicle occupant deaths unless there is suspicion 
of alcohol or substance use. 

The current law states that professionals must report a death to Child Protective 
Services (CPS) at DFPS if they have a belief that the child has been abused or 
neglected. Due to the lack of notification and investigation by CPS, child deaths 
resulting from possible abuse and/or neglect may be under-reported and services to 
the families are not offered. Therefore, the committee recommends amending the 
existing Texas Family Code, Section 261.102 to include reporting all children less 
than six years old that have died due to unexplained or non-natural causes, 
excluding motor-vehicle occupant deaths unless there is suspicion of alcohol or 
substance use to DFPS in order to better identify possible cases of abuse and/or 
neglect.  

A precedent for reporting child deaths exists in the Texas Family Code, Section 
263.513, which states that a person who knows of the death of a child younger 
than six years old must report it to the Medical Examiner or Justice of the Peace in 
the county in which the death occurred, regardless of whether the death was 
alleged to be the result of abuse or neglect. 

Implementation of this recommendation will ensure that all children who die 
unexpectedly that are less than six are investigated by DFPS. This recommendation 
has the possibility to increase the number of investigations and services offered to 
families at the time of a child’s death in addition to improving the continuity of 
reporting among agencies. 

                                       
8 Injury Prevention Web. “Isolation Fences Around Residential Swimming Pools.” Injury Prevention Policy, www.safetypolicy.org. 
Accessed 6 Dec. 2019. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.261.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.264.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.264.htm
http://www.safetypolicy.org/
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Recommendation 4: Fund Child Fatality Review Team Coordinators in each 
of the DSHS Public Health Service Regions as recommended by the Protect 
Our Kids Commission (POK Commission). 

The Children’s Justice Act pilot project in Bexar County and Burnet County was 
conducted to provide support for this recommendation. The pilot, which ended in 
August 2019, hired two CFRT Coordinators, one in a rural and one in an urban 
region of Texas, to provide guidance and training to their local CFRT to increase the 
quality of the data reported and the quantity of the cases reviewed. Preliminary 
results showed that Burnet County entered 78 percent of cases for 2018 and Bexar 
County increased data entry by 92.5 percent from 2015 to 2018. Bexar County 
Juvenile Justice Department found that having a local CFRT Coordinator for their 
county team increased stakeholder participation and increased data entry. They 
applied for the Children’s Justice Act grant in 2019 and, given the success of the 
pilot, were awarded the grant to continue housing the Bexar County CFRT 
Coordinator.  

The committee supports the POK Commission recommendation to fund a CFRT 
Coordinator in each Public Health Service Region. Local CFRT Coordinators, 
presiding officers, and data entry coordinators are members who serve as 
volunteers on their review teams. Funding a local CFRT Coordinator in each of the 
Public Health Service Regions will increase the potential for consistency in local 
CFRT function throughout the state.  

The POK Commission met seven times in 2015 and divided into four workgroups 
(CFRT, Prevention, Data, and Sustainability). One of the recommendations and 
strategies that were adopted by the POK Commission was for the legislature to fund 
CFRT Coordinators for each of the DSHS Regions.  

The recommendations contained in the 2015 POK Commission Report provide a 
guide for the changes and improvements needed for a safer Texas.9  

Recommendation 5: Amend  Texas Transportation Code, Section 545.412  
to create an additional offense related to rear-facing child passenger 
restraint systems using the following language: 

● Current language: A person commits an offense if the person operates a 
passenger vehicle, transports a child who is younger than eight years of age, 

                                       
9 Protect Our Kids Commission Report. “Protect Our Kids Commission Report - December 1, 2015.” Protect Our Kids Commission 
Report, www.texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/1141/pdf-report-pok-commission-december-2015.pdf. Accessed 9 Dec. 2019. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.545.htm
http://www.texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/1141/pdf-report-pok-commission-december-2015.pdf
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unless the child is taller than four feet, nine inches, and does not keep the 
child secured during the operation of the vehicle in a child passenger safety 
seat system according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety 
seat system. 

● Proposed additional language: A person commits an offense if the person 
operates a passenger vehicle, transports a child under two years of age, 
and does not keep the child secured during the operation of the vehicle in a 
rear-facing child passenger safety seat system according to the instructions 
of the manufacturer of the safety seat system. 

The AAP, the CDC, and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) 
recommends that children should use a rear-facing car safety seat (CSS) for as long 
as possible but at least until they reach the highest weight or height allowed by 
their CSS’s manufacturer.10, 11, 12  This varies in age but can usually cover children 
from birth to age two to four years.11 Most convertible CSS will allow children two 
years or more to ride rear-facing.10  

In a rear-facing CSS, the harness cradles and moves with a child to reduce the 
stress to a child’s head and neck.12  

There has been a substantial increase in scientific evidence on which to base 
recommendations for best practices in child passenger safety. Current estimates of 
child restraint effectiveness indicate that child safety seats reduce the risk of injury 
by 71 to 82 percent and reduce the risk of death by 28 percent when compared 
with children of similar ages in seat belts.10  

In Texas, there were 86 deaths to children less than 8 years of age in motor vehicle 
crashes in 2016, and local CFRTs reviewed 43 percent of those deaths. 

Recommendations to the Department of Family and 
Protective Services 

Recommendation 1: A dedicated and secure DFPS Hotline 800 number for 
all medical personnel in order to reduce wait time for mandated medical 

                                       
10 Pediatrics Official Journal of the American Academy of Pediatrics. “Child Passenger Safety.” Child Passenger Safety/American 
Academy of Pediatrics, 1 November 2018, www.pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/142/5/e20182460. 
11 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Child Passenger Safety: Get the Facts - Prevention.” Child Passenger Safety: Get 

the Facts/Motor Vehicle Safety, www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/child_passenger_safety/cps-factsheet. Accessed 9 Dec. 2019 
12 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “Car Seat Recommendations for Children.” Car Seat Recommendations for 
Children – NHTSA, 21 March 2011, www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/nhtsacarseatrecommendations.pdf. 
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professionals during critical, and often time-sensitive interactions with 
potential child abuse situations.  

The committee recommends that DFPS establish a dedicated hotline for all medical 
personnel in order to reduce wait time for mandated medical professionals during 
critical, and often time-sensitive interactions with potential child abuse situations. A 
dedicated hotline would decrease wait times to reporting of abuse and neglect 
concerns by trained and vetted medical professionals. 

Currently, medical personnel in Texas do not have a dedicated child abuse hotline 
(800 number) like law enforcement agencies to report abuse and neglect to DFPS. 
Medical personnel use the public child abuse hotline that is used by schools, other 
professional organizations, and private citizens. Per DFPS statewide intake reports 
of abuse/neglect by agency, medical personnel (84,776) were the highest reporters 
to statewide intake, followed by schools (66,168), and law enforcement (56,664).13 

In 2018, DFPS received 467,282 calls on the public child abuse hotline. The average 
hold time was 11.9 minutes. DFPS answered 307,942 of those calls, with an 
average hold time of 13.8 minutes. There were 159,340 calls abandoned or 34.1 
percent of the total calls.  

In comparison, in 2018, DFPS received 67,947 calls on the dedicated law 
enforcement hotline, with an average hold time of 1.6 minutes. DFPS answered 
64,293 of those calls, with an average wait time of 1.6 minutes. There were 3,654 
calls abandoned or 5.4 percent of the total calls. 

Having a dedicated child abuse hotline has decreased the average hold time for law 
enforcement professionals to 1.6 minutes compared to 13.8 minutes for the pubic 
child abuse hotline. Medical professionals are seeing patients in hospitals, clinics, 
and private practices. CFRT members, both local and state, report that it can be a 
struggle to wait to report abuse and neglect to DFPS using the public child abuse 
hotline while balancing the needs of their patients.  

                                       
13 Texas Department of Family and Protective Services. “Statewide Intake: Source of Abuse/Neglect Report.” Child Protective 
Services (CPS) Data and Statistics-DFPS, 
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/About_DFPS/Data_Book/Statewide_Intake/Source_of_Reports.asp. Accessed 9 Dec. 2019. 
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4. Conclusion 

Child Fatality Review is a unique process that brings together multi-disciplinary 
professionals to discuss how and why Texas children are dying. This report is based 
on the data collected and recommendations made by local CFRTs, as well as the 
research, recommendations, and advocacy of the committee. Committee members 
participate in their local CFRT reviews and work to bring the topics discussed in 
local reviews to the attention of the state committee.   

The State Child Fatality Review Team Committee (committee) made five 
recommendations to the Governor and Legislature concerning actions to increase 
children’s safety in Texas. Recommendations include legislation around pool fences, 
strengthening motor vehicle legislation, funding support staff in the regions and 
modifying how deaths are reported to CPS. One recommendation was also made to 
the Department of Family and Protective Services for the addition of a dedicated 
hotline for medical personnel. 

This report would not be possible without the dedication and input of the members 
of the committee and the local CFRT Coordinators, Presiding Officers, and 
respective team members. The diverse range of professionals who volunteer as 
members of the local CFRTs give the child fatality review process its multi-
disciplinary perspective and add immeasurably to the goal of understanding child 
death and reducing risk to Texas children. 
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List of Acronyms 

Acronym Full Name 

AAP American Academy of Pediatrics 

CDC United States Center for Disease Control and Prevention 

CFRT Child Fatality Review Team 

CPS Child Protective Services 

CCS Car Safety Seat 

DFPS Department of Family and Protective Services 

DSHS Department of State Health Services 

NCFRP National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention 

NHTSA National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

POK Protect Our Kids 

PTDE Parent-Taught Driver Education 
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Term expires 2/1/21 
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Hudson Oaks, TX 76087 
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Michael.Baldwin@hudsonoaks.com 

WILLIAM MCCLAIN, MD 
Medical Examiner 
Term expires 2/1/20 
Bexar County Medical Examiner’s Office 
7337 Louis Pasteur Dr. 
San Antonio, TX 78229 
(210) 335-4001 
William.Mcclain@bexar.org 

 
ADA BOOTH, MD 
CHAIR 
Child Abuse Prevention 
Term expires 2/1/21 
Driscoll Children’s Hospital 
3533 S. Alameda St. 
Corpus Christi, TX  78411 
(361) 694-4345 
ada.booth@dchstx.org 

 
KENTON MURTHY, MD 
Public Health representative 
Term expires 2/1/22 
Tarrant County Public Health 
1101 South Main Street 
Fort Worth, TX 76104 
(817) 321-5988 
kkmurthy@tarrantcounty.com 

 
KIM CHEUNG, MD, PHD 
Pediatrician 
Term expires 2/1/21 
UT Health Science Center at Houston 
Department of Pediatrics 
Child Protective Services Clinic 
6300 Chimney Rock 
Houston, TX  77081 
(713) 295-2579 
kim.k.cheung@uth.tmc.edu 

 
CLARISSA MORA 
Child advocate representative 
Term expires 2/1/22 
Children’s Advocacy Center of Coastal 
Bend 
1201 Agnes St 
Corpus Christi, TX 78401 
(361) 855-9058 
clarissam@caccb.net 
 

 
STEVEN CLINKSCALES, EMT-P 
Emergency Medical Services 
Senior Program Director 
Term expires 2/1/21 
Air Evac Lifeteam - Central Texas 
115 CR 4282  
Hillsboro, TX 76645 
(417) 293-2626 
Steven.Clinkscales@air-evac.com 

 
TERRY PENCE 
Texas Department of Transportation 
representative 
Term expires 2/1/22 
Texas Department of Transportation 
125 E. 11th St 
Austin, TX 78701 
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Term expires 2/1/22 
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sheriff@hutchinsoncnty.com 

ANGELICA POWERS 
Criminal prosecutor  
Term expires 2/1/22 
Bexar County District Attorney’s Office 
300 Dolorosa 
San Antonio, TX 78248 
(210) 364-9133 
Angelica.powers@bexar.org 

 
TARA DAS, PhD, MPH, MLIS 
Vital Statistics representative 
Permanent member 
State Registrar and Director 
Texas Department of State Health 
Services 
1100 W 49th St 
Austin, TX 78756 
(512) 776-7646 
Tara.Das@dshs.texas.gov 

 
KATHRYN SIBLEY 
DFPS representative 
Permanent member 
Texas DFPS Prevention and Early 
Intervention 
2535 Ridgepoint Drive MC 2402 
Austin, TX 78754 
(512) 944-3740 
Kathryn.sibley@dfps.state.tx.us 

 
KRISTI ELLIOTT 
Child educator 
Term expires 2/1/21 
Comal Independent School District 
8555 RM 32 
Fischer, TX 78623 
(830) 885-1702 
Kristi.elliott@comalisd.org 

 
AMY SMITH 
Family Violence Advocate 
Term expires 2/1/22 
Harris County Domestic Violence 
Coordinating Council 
2990 Richmond, Suite 550 
Houston, TX 77098 
(281) 400-3680 
amysmith@hcdvcc.org 

 
ELIZABETH FARLEY 
Governor’s Office Appointee 
Permanent member 
Office of Governor Greg Abbott 
State Insurance Building – 4th fl 
1100 San Jacinto 
Austin, TX 78701 
(512) 463-8966 
elizabeth.farley@gov.texas.gov 

 
MARSHA STONE 
Child Protective Services Specialist 
Term expires 2/1/21 
Texas DFPS 
701 W 51st St. 
Austin, TX 78753 
(512) 568-4810 
Marsha.stone@dfps.state.tx.us 

 
SANJUANITA GARZA-COX, MD 
SIDS Service Provider 
Term Expires 2/1/22 
Baby Education for South Texas-
B.E.S.T./Mednax 
5430 Fredericksburg Rd. Suite 508 
San Antonio, TX 78257 
Phone: (210) 541-8281 
Sanjuanita_cox@mednax.com 

 
CAPTAIN STEVEN TELLEZ 
Public Safety representative 
Term expires 2/1/21 
Department of Public Safety 
6502 S. New Braunfels 
San Antonio, Texas 78223 
(210) 531-2206 
Steven.Tellez@dps.texas.gov 

mailto:sheriff@hutchinsoncnty.com
mailto:Angelica.powers@bexar.org
mailto:Tara.Das@dshs.texas.gov
mailto:Kathryn.sibley@dfps.state.tx.us
mailto:Kristi.elliott@comalisd.org
mailto:amysmith@hcdvcc.org
mailto:Allison.Billodeau@gov.texas.gov
mailto:Marsha.stone@dfps.state.tx.us
mailto:Sanjuanita_cox@mednax.com
mailto:Steven.Tellez@dps.texas.gov
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JACKIE LOPEZ 
Mental health provider 
Term Expires 2/1/20 
Program Administrator 
Border Region Behavioral Health Center 
1500 Pappas St.  
Laredo, TX 78041 
(956) 794-3068 
jackiel@borderregion.org 

JEREMY TRIPLETT 
DSHS Title V representative 
Permanent member 
Texas DSHS, MC 1922 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas 78714 
(512) 776-2567 
jeremy.triplett@dshs.texas.gov 

 
LETTY MARTINEZ 
Lt. Governor appointee 
Permanent member 
Varghese Summersett PLLC 
300 Throckmorton Street, Suite 1650 
Fort Worth, TX 76102 
Phone: (817) 203-2220 
letty@versustexas.com 

 
JEANNINE VON STULTZ, PHD  
Juvenile Probation Officer 
Term expires 2/1/21 
Bexar County Juvenile Probation 
301 E. Mitchell 
San Antonio, TX 78210 
(210) 335-7515 
jvonstultz@bexar.org 

 
DONALD MCCURNIN, MD 
Neonatologist 
Term expires 2/1/21 
UT Health Science Center at San Antonio  
San Antonio, TX 
(210) 567-5232 
mccurnin@uthscsa.edu 

 
REP. GENE WU 
Speaker of the House appointee 
Permanent member 
PO Box 2910  
Austin, TX 78768-2910 
512-463-0492 
gene.wu@house.texas.gov 

mailto:jackiel@borderregion.org
mailto:jeremy.triplett@dshs.texas.gov
mailto:letty@versustexas.com
mailto:jvonstultz@bexar.org
mailto:mccurnin@uthscsa.edu
mailto:gene.wu@house.texas.gov
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Appendix B. Legislative Changes 

In 2017, during the regular session of the 85th Legislature, House Bill 1549 made 
substantial changes to statute that defines the committee and local CFRT structure 
and activities. Below is a list of the changes: 

● The addition of three legislative appointees to the committee. 
● A rule that committee members must be a member of the local CFRT where 

they reside unless they are an appointed representative of a state agency. 
● The DSHS must evaluate CFRT data to create public health strategies. 
● Training must be identified and made available for Justices of the Peace and 

Medical Examiners regarding inquests in child death cases. 
● Deletion of the population requirement of 50,000 to join counties for local 

CFRTs. 
● A local CFRT must reflect the diversity of the county’s population. 
● A local CFRT must review and analyze the collected data to identify 

demographic trends in child fatality review cases, including if there was a 
disproportionate number of child fatalities in specific population groups or 
geographic areas. 

● DSHS shall provide a local CFRT with electronic access to the preliminary 
death certificate for a deceased child. 

● The Commissioner’s Court of a county shall adopt regulations relating to the 
timeliness for conducting an inquest into the death of a child. The regulations 
adopted under this subsection must be as stringent as the standards issued 
by the National Association of Medical Examiners unless the Commissioner’s 
Court determines that it would be cost prohibitive for the county to comply 
with those standards. 

● The Medical Examiner or Justice of the Peace shall notify the appropriate 
county CFRT of the child’s death not later than the 120th day after the date 
the death is reported. 

https://capitol.texas.gov/BillLookup/History.aspx?LegSess=85R&Bill=HB1549
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Appendix C. Analysis from 2016 Death Certificates 

Data presented in this report represent state-level trends from death certificate 
data for child deaths that occurred in Texas in 2016, regardless of the child’s 
residence. Currently, 2016 is the most recent year for which the Department of 
State Health Services’ (DSHS) Center for Health Statistics has finalized death data 
files. Data for 2017 and beyond are not currently finalized and will not be used in 
the following analysis to ensure consistent and accurate reporting.  

Figure 1 shows the mortality rate in Texas for all child deaths for children 0-17 
years of age between 2012 and 2016. The rates of total child deaths in Texas were 
consistent during the specified time period.  

Figure 1. Texas Child Death Rate, All Causes of Death, 0-17 Years, 2012-2016i 

 

i Source: Office of the State Demographer, Texas State Data Center, Texas Population Estimates 
Center for Health Statistics, DSHS Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention, 1/2020 
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Figure 2. Texas Child Death Rate, Natural Cause of Death, 0-17 Years, 2012-2016i 

 

i Source: Office of the State Demographer, Texas State Data Center, Texas Population Estimates 
Center for Health Statistics, DSHS Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention, 1/2020 

                                       

Natural child deaths were at the lowest rate in five years in 2015. The rates of 
natural child deaths in Texas were consistent during the specified time period 
(Figure 2). 

Figure 3. Natural Child Death Rate by Race/Ethnicity, Texas, 0-17 Years, 2016i 

i Source: Office of the State Demographer, Texas State Data Center, Texas Population Estimates 
Center for Health Statistics, DSHS Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention, 1/2020 
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Natural causes include death due to prematurity, congenital anomalies, cancer, and 
infectious diseases. In 2016, Black children were nearly two times more likely to die 
of natural causes than any other race/ethnicity (Figure 3), primarily due to 
prematurity. 

Figure 4. Injury Child Death Rate by Race/Ethnicity, Texas, 0-17 Years, 2016i 

 

i Source: Office of the State Demographer, Texas State Data Center, Texas Population Estimates 
Center for Health Statistics, DSHS Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention, 1/2020 

                                       

The injury child death rates (Figure 4), which consists of homicides, suicides and 
accidents, were considerably lower than the natural child death rates (Figure 3). In 
2016, Black children died of homicide and accidents at a higher rate than any other 
race/ethnicity (Figure 4). White children died of suicide at a higher rate than any 
other race/ethnicity (Figure 4).  
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Figure 5. Trends in Injury Child Death Rates by Manner of Death, Texas, 0-17 
Years, 2012-2016i 

 

i Source: Office of the State Demographer, Texas State Data Center, Texas Population Estimates 
Center for Health Statistics, DSHS Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention, 1/2020 

                                       

The rate of accidental death for children 0-17 years of age in Texas remains at least 
four times higher than homicide or suicide deaths between 2012 and 2016 (Figure 
5).  Accidental deaths include deaths due to motor vehicle injuries, drowning, 
choking, and other causes of death. Accidental deaths remained constant from 
2013 to 2016 (Figure 5).  
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Figure 6. Trends in Accidental Child Death Rates by Age Groups, Texas, Ages 1-17 
Years, 2012-2016i 

 

i Source: Office of the State Demographer, Texas State Data Center, Texas Population Estimates 
Center for Health Statistics, DSHS Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention, 1/2020 

                                       

Accidental child death rates increased slightly among youth aged 15-17 years from 
2015 to 2016 (Figure 6). There was a decrease in accidental death rates between 
2015 and 2016 among children 1-4 years (Figure 6). 
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Appendix D. Data from Child Fatality Review Teams 

Texas CFRT data was downloaded from the National Center for Fatality Review and 
Prevention (NCFRP) Case Reporting System on 01/21/2020. Deaths occurring in 
2016 were abstracted from this dataset, checked for duplicates, and imported into 
SAS software. All data was previously collected by local CFRTs and with no 
additional data added.  

Texas death data was extracted from the Texas Department of State Health 
Services mortality file for 2016, ages 0-17 years-old, on 01/21/2020. All data was 
previously collected with no additional data added. This dataset was imported into 
SAS software for analysis.  

All frequency analyses and tabulations for both datasets were performed in SAS 
software, version 9.4.     

Table 1. Comparison of Child Fatality Cases Reviewed, Death Certificates and CFRT 
Data by Manner of Death, Texas, Ages 0-17 years, 2016i 

Manner of 
Death 

Death 
Certificate 

Reviewed Percent 
Reviewed 

Natural 2,601 573 22% 

Accident 613 313 51% 

Homicide 154 85 55% 

Suicide 150 85 57% 

Otherii 340 187 55% 

Total 3,858 1,243 32% 
 

i Source: Child Fatality Review Team Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention Epidemiology, 1/2020 
ii Includes records with manner of death coded as undetermined, unknown, or pending 
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Table 2. Comparison of Child Fatality Cases Reviewed, Death Certificates and CFRT 
Suicide by Age Group, Texas, Ages 10-17 years, 2016i 

Age Group Death 
Certificate 

Reviewed Percent 
Reviewed 

10-14 years 36 19 53% 

15-17 years 113 65 58% 

Total 149 84 56% 
 

i Source: Child Fatality Review Team Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention Epidemiology, 1/2020 

                                       

Table 3. Comparison of Child Fatality Cases Reviewed, Death Certificates and CFRT 
Homicide by Age Group, Texas, Ages 0-17 years, 2016i 

Age Group Death 
Certificate 

Reviewed Percent 
Reviewed 

0-4 years 63 36 57% 

5-9 years 17 11 65% 

10-14 years 14 6 43% 

15-17 years 60 32 53% 

Total 154 85 55% 

 

i Source: Child Fatality Review Team Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention Epidemiology, 1/2020 
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Table 4. Comparison of Child Fatality Cases Reviewed, Death Certificates and CFRT 
Accidental Deaths by Age Group, Texas, Ages 0-17 years, 2016i 

Age Group Death 
Certificate 

Reviewed Percent 
Reviewed 

0-4 years 245 137 56% 

5-9 years 99 33 33% 

10-14 years 108 52 48% 

15-17 years 161 91 57% 

Total 613 313 51% 
 

i Source: Child Fatality Review Team Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention Epidemiology, 1/2020 

                                       

Table 5. Comparison of Child Fatality Cases Reviewed, Death Certificates and CFRT 
Other Causes by Age Group, Texas, Ages 0-17 years, 2016i 

Age Group Death 
Certificate 

Reviewed Percent 
Reviewed 

0-9 yearsii 320 173 54% 

10-14 years 8 5 63% 

15-17 years 12 9 75% 

Total 340 187 55% 
 

i Source: Child Fatality Review Team Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention Epidemiology, 1/2020 
ii Age groups are combined to reduce suppression 
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Table 6. Comparison of Child Fatality Cases Reviewed, Death Certificates and CFRT 
Natural by Age Group, Texas, Ages 0-17 years, 2016i 

Age Group Death 
Certificate 

Reviewed Percent 
Reviewed 

0-4 years 2143 488 23% 

5-9 years 173 23 13% 

10-14 years 164 36 22% 

15-17 years 121 26 21% 

Total 2,601 573 22% 
 

i Source: Child Fatality Review Team Death Data Files 2016 
Prepared by: Office of Injury Prevention Epidemiology, 1/2020 
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