

"Lifesaving Newborn Screen"- 30-second public service announcement

Produced by UTHSCSA Academic Technology Services Department, on behalf of Texas Pulse Oximetry Project, a joint educational initiative of UTHSCSA Department of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine/Department of Pediatrics and Texas Department of State Health Services

Link to PSA: http://youtu.be/nJtAF87cIGk

Texas Law now mandates that all babies older than 24 hours have a quick and painless screen for a condition known as critical congenital heart disease, the leading cause of death in infants less than 1 year of age. Because of this screening baby ABE was able to have lifesaving heart surgery before leaving the hospital. Ask your baby's doctor, ask the hospital for screening.