
FAQ 

Freestanding Emergency Medical Care 

Facilities 

86th Legislative Session, HB 2041 

 

A Freestanding Emergency Medical Care Facility (FEMCF), as defined 
by Section 254.001, including a freestanding emergency medical care 

facility that is exempt from the licensing requirements of Chapter 254 under 
Section 254.052(8). 

 

DSHS interprets the FEMCFs which are exempt from the licensing 

requirements under Chapter 254 as hospital owned emergency medical 
care facilities which are located away from the licensed hospital’s primary 

or home address. 

 

 

Are FEMCF’s that are “exempt” from licensing under Texas Health 

and Safety Code, Chapter 254, required to report? 

Yes. A Freestanding Emergency Medical Care Facilities (FEMCF) that is 

“exempt” from licensing under Health and Safety Code, Chapter 254 does 

not mean that it is exempt from reporting data to the THCIC. Under Texas 

Health and Safety Code, Chapter 108, an FEMCF that is “exempt” from 

licensing is required to report data on emergency medical services provided 

at their physical location under their assigned THCIC ID.While some 

hospitals may refer to these Hospital Outpatient Departments (HOPD), if the 

HOPD performs emergency medical services and bills patients using revenue 

codes 0450, 0451, 0452, 0456 or 0459, they are required to report under 

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 108. 

What is required to be reported by FEMCs? 
 

The data which must be reported are administrative claims level billing data 
on all patient ED visits and would include the same information for patient 

visits that do not generate a billing claim due to a “self-pay” patient or 
“charity” patient. The data would also include the patient SSN, Race, and 

Ethnicity. 
A list of all required patient information may be found beginning on page 19 

at 

https://dshs.texas.gov/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/TechReqSpec5010_Outpati
e nt_THCIC837.pdf 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&amp;Value=254.001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&amp;Value=254
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&amp;Value=254.052
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&amp;Value=254
https://dshs.texas.gov/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/TechReqSpec5010_Outpatient_THCIC837.pdf
https://dshs.texas.gov/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/TechReqSpec5010_Outpatient_THCIC837.pdf
https://dshs.texas.gov/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/TechReqSpec5010_Outpatient_THCIC837.pdf


Are HOPDs required to report? 

 

Yes. Hospitals sometime refer to Freestanding Emergency Medical Care 

Facilities as a Hospital Outpatient Department (HOPD). If your hospital has 

a HOPD and that facility is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 
provides emergency medical care services, that facility’s emergency medical 

care services will be required to report data separately from the hospital 
data. 

 
Are Micro Hospitals required to report? 

 

Yes. Hospitals sometime refer to Freestanding Emergency Medical Care 
Facilities as a Micro Hospital. If your hospital has a Micro Hospital and that 

facility is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and provides only emergency 
medical care services, that facility’s emergency medical care services will 

be required to report data separately from the hospital data. 
 

Are FEMCFs required to report individually? 

 

Yes. Each state licensed FEMCF and hospital owned FEMCF will be 

required to report data to the THCIC program based on the physical 
location of services using a specific THCIC ID. 

 
Do FEMCFs report using a data identifier? 
 

Yes. THCIC will issue unique THCIC IDs to each hospital owned and state 
licensed FEMCF for reporting purposes. FEMCF THCIC ID assignments will E- 

mailed or mailed on May 15, 2020 to all known FEMCs. 
 

When will FEMCFs be required to begin reporting? 
 

We anticipate the FEMCFs will follow the THCIC Reporting Schedule 

beginning with 4Q2020 data reporting timeline (pending Rule approval). 
4Q2020 data include services provided from October 1, 2020 through 

December 31, 2020. 4Q2020 data must be reported no later than March 1, 
2021. 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/THCIC/datareportingschedule.shtm 

 
When do I send contact information to THCIC for my FEMCF? 

 

Once the THCIC IDs are issued in May 15, 2020, THCIC will provide each 
FEMCF with a THCIC Facility Information Contact form for completion 

and return to THCIC at that time. The contact information is necessary so 
that THCIC can activate an account for your FEMCF in our system. 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/THCIC/datareportingschedule.shtm


 
Is there a specific format the data must be submitted in? 

 

Data must be reported in the ANSI (American National Standards Institute) 

837 Institutional Guide format, same as required by HIPAA, with 
modification/addition to the K3 segment to include: Patient Ethnicity, 

Patient Race, and Patient SSN (The Patient SSN is required here if the 

patient is not the subscriber to a third-party payer, where the patient SSN 
is submitted. 

 

The data reporting specifications format will be the same as the Emergency 
Department data reporting requirements, which are already available on 

the THCIC website. 

https://wwwstage.dshs.internal/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/Tech_Req_Spec_
5 010_Ver_10-2_Outpatient_THCIC837.pdf 

 
Where can I find the rule requirements? 
 

Rules for collecting data from FEMCFs will follow the same guidelines of the 
Outpatient Emergency Room rules. These rules are currently being modified 

to include FEMCFs. 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=2 
5&pt=1&ch=421&sch=E&rl=Y 

 

Are there trainings available? 

 

THCIC provides online Webinar training to staff that have been issued a 
Provider Login Username. FEMCs will sign up for the OUTPATIENT Trainings 
for WebClaim, WebCorrect, and WebCertification. FEMCFs won’t receive 

a Provider Login until June 1, 2020 if a completed THCIC Facility 
Information Contact form is received from the FEMC. See the following 
website link for additional information about the trainings. 
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/thcic/Training.shtm 

 

How do I get a Provider Login Username? 
 

THCIC initiates this through our contract vendor, System13, for each FEMCF, 
which will occur on June 1, 2020 if the THCIC Facility Information Contact 

form has been received. 
 

 
 

 

https://wwwstage.dshs.internal/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/Tech_Req_Spec_5010_Ver_10-2_Outpatient_THCIC837.pdf
https://wwwstage.dshs.internal/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/Tech_Req_Spec_5010_Ver_10-2_Outpatient_THCIC837.pdf
https://wwwstage.dshs.internal/thcic/OutpatientFacilities/Tech_Req_Spec_5010_Ver_10-2_Outpatient_THCIC837.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&amp;ti=25&amp;pt=1&amp;ch=421&amp;sch=E&amp;rl=Y
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&amp;ti=25&amp;pt=1&amp;ch=421&amp;sch=E&amp;rl=Y
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/thcic/Training.shtm


What do I need to do to submit my data electronically? 
 

FEMCFs must first be issued a THCIC ID, which won’t happen until May/June 
2020. Once your THCIC ID has been issued, you may sign up with System13 

for a Submitter ID and Login (this is different from the Provider Login) and 
then you may begin testing your data files to see if the files will be accepted 

into the system at System13. 
 

Sign up for a Submitter ID here: https://thcic.system13.com/enrollments 

 

https://thcic.system13.com/enrollments

