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TITLE 25 HEALTH SERVICES 

 
PART 1 DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 

CHAPTER 265 GENERAL SANITATION 

SUBCHAPTER B TEXAS YOUTH CAMPS SAFETY AND HEALTH 

 
§265.11 Definitions 

 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the content clearly indicates otherwise. 

 
(1) Act--Texas Youth Camp Safety and Health Act, Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 141. 

 
(2) Adult--A person at least 18 years of age or older. 

 
(3) Camper--A minor child, under 18 years of age, who is attending a youth camp on either a 
day or boarding basis. 

 
(4) Challenge course--Activity designed for educational purposes or team building, which may 

offer a variety of challenges, including zip lines, high and low rope courses, rappelling, and 
climbing walls. 

 
(5) Commissioner--The Commissioner of the Department of State Health Services. 

 
(6) Day camp--A camp that operates during the day or any portion of the day between 7:00 
a.m. and 10:00 p.m. for four or more consecutive days and that offers no more than two 
overnight stays during each camp session. To be eligible to be licensed as a youth camp, the 

camp's schedule shall be structured so that each camper attends for four hours or more per 
day for four consecutive days. The term does not include a facility that is required to be 

licensed with the Health and Human Services Commission. 

 
(7) Department--Department of State Health Services. 

 
(8) Executive Commissioner--Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services 

Commission. 

 
(9) Firearm--Any device designed, made, or adapted to expel a projectile through a barrel by 
using the energy generated by an explosion or a burning substance, or any device readily 

convertible to that use. 

 
(10) Municipal water supply--A public water supply owned or operated by or for a city or a 
corporation having the right of administering local government. 

 

(11) Pellet gun--Any device designed, made, or adapted to expel a projectile through a barrel 
by using compressed air or carbon dioxide. This definition includes air guns, air rifles, BB 

guns, and paintball guns. 
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(12) Permanent structure--Man-made buildings such as dining halls, dormitories, cabins, or 
other buildings that are constructed to remain stationary. 

 

(13) Person--An individual, partnership, corporation, association, or organization. In rules for 
this subchapter, a person does not include a government or governmental subdivision. 

 
(14) Playground--A designated area designed for campers to play freely on equipment as 
defined in the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission Publication Number 325, "Handbook 
for Public Playground Safety," December 2015 as amended. 

 
(15) Primitive camp--A youth camp that does not provide either permanent structures or 
utilities for camper use. 

 
(16) Public water system--A public water system, as defined in 30 Texas Administrative Code 

(TAC) §290.38(71) is a system for the provision to the public of water for human consumption 
through pipes or other constructed conveyances, which includes all uses described under the 
definition for drinking water (30 TAC §290.38(23)). Such a system shall have at least 15 

service connections or serve at least 25 individuals at least 60 days out of the year. This term 
includes any collection, treatment, storage, and distribution facilities under the control of the 

operator of such system and used primarily in connection with such system, and any 
collection or pretreatment storage facilities not under such control which are used primarily in 
connection with such system. Two or more systems with each having a potential to serve less 

than 15 connections or less than 25 individuals but owned by the same person, firm, or 
corporation and located on adjacent land will be considered a public water system when the 

total potential service connections in the combined systems are 15 or greater or if the total 
number of individuals served by the combined systems total 25 or greater at least 60 days out 

of the year. Without excluding other meanings of the terms "individual" or "served," an 
individual shall be deemed to be served by a water system if he lives in, uses as his place of 
employment, or works in a place to which drinking water is supplied from the system. 

 
(17) Resident camp--A camp that for a period of four or more consecutive days continuously 
provides residential services to each camper, including overnight accommodations for at least 
three consecutive nights. 

 
(18) Supervised--A person is supervised if the person is within sight, except for infrequent 
momentary periods such as restroom breaks, and within reasonable hearing distance of a 
camper's outcry, of an adult with an obligation to report inappropriate or dangerous activities 

or behavior who has been made aware that the obligation is in effect at that time and who has 
willingly accepted the obligation. This definition is applicable only to rules relating to 

unsupervised contact with campers. 
 
(19) Supervisor/counselor--A person, at least 18 years of age or older, who is responsible for 

the immediate supervision of campers. 

 
(20) Swim test--A formalized test, specific to the body of water utilized, to determine each 
child's swimming ability. A swim test includes a skill evaluation, or some equivalent method of 

determining swimming ability, such as: 
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(A) Non-swimmer: Get into the shallow water, sit down, stand up, and exit the water. 

 

(B) Intermediate swimmer: Jump feet first into water at least twelve inches deeper than the 
height of the child. Level off, swim 25 feet, turn around and swim back. Exit the water. 

 

(C) Swimmer: Jump feet-first into water at least twelve inches deeper than the height of the 
child and swim 75 yards in a strong stroke on your stomach or side (breaststroke, sidestroke, 
crawl, trudgen, or any combination). Then swim 25 yards on your back (elementary back 

stroke), then float and rest on your back for one minute. Exit the water. 

 
(21) TCEQ--Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. 
 

(22) Travel camp--A day or resident camp, lasting for four or more consecutive days, that 
begins and ends at a fixed location, but may move from location to location on a daily basis. 

 

(23) Waterfront--A natural or artificial body of water that includes a lake, ocean, bay, pond, 
river, swimming pool, or spa, which is the site of any water activity. 

 
(24) Waterfront activity--A recreational or instructional activity, occurring in, on, or near a 
waterfront. Waterfront activity includes swimming, boating, water skiing, scuba diving, 

rafting, tubing, synchronized swimming or sailing. 

 
(25) Youth camp--A facility or property, other than a facility required to be licensed by the 
Health and Human Services Commission that: 

 
(A) has the general characteristics of a day camp, resident camp, or travel camp; 

 
(B) provides supervision, and instruction in recreational, athletic, religious, or educational 
activities; 

 
(C) during a camp session, offers at least two youth camp specialized activities in an outdoor 

setting; 

 
(D) accommodates at least five minors during each camp session who attend or temporarily 
reside at the camp, apart from parents or guardians, for all or part of at least four consecutive 

days; 

 
(E) operates as a youth camp for four consecutive hours or more per day; 

 
(F) operates as a youth camp only during school vacation periods; 

 
(G) operates as a youth camp for no more than 120 days each calendar year; and 

 
(H) is not a facility or program operated by or on the campus of an institution of higher 
education or a private or independent institution of higher education as those terms are 

defined by the Texas Education Code, §61.003, that is regularly inspected by one or more 
local governmental entities for compliance with health and safety standards. 
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(26) Youth camp specialized activity--A camp activity such as waterfront activities, archery, 

horseback riding, challenge courses, or riflery that requires special technical skills, equipment, 
or safety regulations, and a high level of adult supervision at all times. 

 
(27) Youth camp operator--Any person who owns, operates, controls, or supervises a youth 

camp, whether or not for profit. 

 

§265.12 Directors, Supervisors, and Staff 

 

(a)On-site director required. Each youth camp shall be under the on-site direction of a 
qualified adult with at least two years of experience working with children. The director shall 

be knowledgeable in camp administrative practices and shall have at least one year of 
leadership experience with an organized youth camp, school or other youth-serving 
organization, such as the Boy Scouts of America or Young Men's Christian Association 

(YMCA). 

 

(b) Adult supervisors. Each youth camp shall have at least one adult supervisor who is 
responsible for the supervision of no more than ten children in the camp. For any youth camp 
specialized activity, the supervisor(s) shall be in the immediate vicinity (within sight and/or 
hearing) of the campers. An "all camp" sedentary activity, not requiring physical activity 

must have at least one adult supervisor to every 25 campers. The camp director shall not be 
included in the supervisor to camper ratio in camps serving over 50 campers at one time.  

 

(c) Supervision of youth camp specialized activity. Youth camp specialized activities shall be 
conducted by and under the direct supervision of a qualified adult capable of implementing 
safety standards established by the department or the camp who shall have either 
documented training or at least two years documented experience in conducting the activity. 

 
(d) Written personnel policies and practices. A camp shall have written personnel policies 
and practices for both campers and staff. Supervisors shall be informed of these policies and 

practices prior to assuming responsibility for campers. 

 
(e)Staff member character and integrity records. The camp management shall ascertain and 
have on record information, such as a letter of reference, attesting to the character and 

integrity of each staff member, and information, such as training certificates, attesting to 
the ability of each staff member to perform the tasks required in his or her position. 

 
(f) Criminal conviction and sex offender background check requirements. The camp 

management shall have on file a record of any criminal conviction and a sex offender 
registration check for all adult staff members and all adult volunteers working at the camp 
before the staff member or volunteer has unsupervised contact with children at the camp. A 

criminal background check and sex offender registration check must be on file for any other 
adult that will have unsupervised contact with campers, other than their own children. If the 

records are located off-site, a letter from the national or regional headquarters of the camp 
organization stating the names of individuals at the camp site for whom background checks 
have been conducted, shall be available at the camp site. All records of criminal convictions 

and written evaluations for a camp or camping organization shall be made available to 
department personnel within two business days upon request. Youth camps are responsible 

for ensuring that criminal and sex offender background checks have been conducted for 
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international staff obtained through the J-1 visa process, and that documentation of these 

checks are located with other staff background checks. Records of criminal convictions and 
sex offender status shall be obtained by: 

 
(1) performing an annual criminal background check using a criminal history database for 

each adult staff member's and each adult volunteer's permanent residence. If the staff 
member or adult volunteer has a temporary or an educational residence, an annual criminal 

background check shall include searching under the permanent, temporary and educational 
address, as applicable. The criminal history database used for the criminal background check 
is to be based on the individual's residences, and may include state, national or international 

databases. Documentation of the search results, whether or not the results are positive, 
shall be maintained with the sex offender background documentation; and 

 
(2) performing an annual background check using a sex offender registration database for 
each adult staff member's and each adult volunteer's permanent residence and educational 
residence if applicable, such as the TXDPS - Sex Offender Registry, which may be accessed at 

Texas Department of Public Safety - Crime Records Service. Documentation of the search 
results, whether or not the results are positive, shall be maintained with the criminal 

background documentation. 

 

(g) Persons whose presence at a youth camp shall be precluded. Youth camps shall not employ 
paid or unpaid staff members or volunteers at a youth camp, or permit any person to have 
unsupervised contact with campers other than their own children, if the person has the 
following types of criminal convictions or deferred adjudications: a misdemeanor or felony 

under Texas Penal Code, Title 5 (Offenses Against the Person) excluding a Class C 
misdemeanor under §22.01 (Assault), Title 6 (Offenses Against the Family), Chapter 29 

(Robbery) of Title 7, Chapter 43 (Public Indecency) or §42.072 (Stalking) of Title 9, §15.031 
(Criminal Solicitation of a Minor) of Title 4, §38.17 (Failure to Stop or Report Aggravated 
Sexual Assault of Child) of Title 8, or any like offense under the law of another state or under 

federal law. 

 
(h) Persons whose presence at a youth camp may be precluded.  

 
(1) Youth camps may preclude a person from being a paid or unpaid staff member or volunteer 
at a youth camp, or may preclude a person from having unsupervised contact with campers 

other than the person's own children, if the person has the following types of criminal 
convictions or deferred adjudications: 

 
(A) a Class C misdemeanor committed within the past ten years under §22.01 (Assault) 

of Title 5 of the Texas Penal Code, or any like offense under the law of another state or 
under federal law; 

 
(B) a misdemeanor or felony committed within the past ten years under §46.13 (Making a 

Firearm Accessible to a Child) or Chapter 49 (Intoxication and Alcoholic Beverage Offenses) of 
Title 10 of the Texas Penal Code, or any like offense under the law of another state or under 

federal law; or 

 
(C) any other felony under the Texas Penal Code or any like offense under the law of another 
state or under federal law that the person committed within the past ten years. 
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(2) Camp management shall have on file a written evaluation by two or more camp 
executive staff for any staff member or volunteer whose presence at the youth camp may 

be precluded under this subsection showing that management has determined the person 
is suitable for a position at the youth camp despite a criminal conviction or deferred 

adjudication. 

 
(i) Sexual abuse and child molestation awareness training and examination program. 

 
(1) A youth camp licensee may not employ or accept the volunteer service of an individual 
for a position involving contact with campers at a youth camp, or permit any person to 

have unsupervised contact with campers, unless: 

 
(A) the individual submits to the licensee or the youth camp has on file documentation that 
verifies the individual within the preceding two years has successfully completed the training 

and examination program required by this subsection; or 

 
(B) the individual successfully completes the youth camp's training and examination 
program approved by the department during the individual's first workweek, and prior to 

any contact with campers unless supervised during the first workweek by an adult who has 
successfully completed the program. 

 
(2) For purposes of this subsection, the term "contact with campers" does not include visitors 
such as a guest speaker, an entertainer, or a parent who visits for a limited purpose or a 
limited time if the visitor has no direct and unsupervised contact with campers. A visitor may 

have direct and unsupervised contact with a camper to whom the visitor is related. A camp 
may require training and an examination for visitors if it chooses. 

 

(3) A youth camp licensee shall retain in the person's personnel record a copy of the 
documentation required or issued under paragraph (1)(A) and (B) of this subsection for each 

employee or volunteer until the second anniversary of the examination date. 

 

(4) Prior to their use, the department may approve training and examination programs 
offered by trainers under contract with youth camps, by online training organizations, or 

programs offered in another format, such as a videotape, authorized by the department. 

 
(5) A training and examination program on sexual abuse and child molestation approved by 
the department shall at a minimum include training and an examination on: 

 
(A) the definitions and effects of sexual abuse and child molestation; 

 

(B) the typical patterns of behavior and methods of operation of child molesters and sex 
offenders that put children at risk; 

 
(C) the warning signs and symptoms associated with sexual abuse or child molestation, 

recognition of the signs and symptoms, and the recommended methods of reporting 
suspected abuse; 

 
(D) the recommended rules and procedures for youth camps to implement to address, 
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reduce, prevent, and report suspected sexual abuse or child molestation; 

 
(E) the need to minimize unsupervised encounters between adults and minors; and 

 
(F) the potential for consensual and nonconsensual sexual activity between campers, steps 
to prevent sexual activity between campers, and how to respond if sexual activity between 

campers occurs. 

 
(6) The training program shall last for a minimum of one hour and discuss each of the 
topics described in paragraph (5) of this subsection. 

 
(7) The examination shall consist of a minimum of 25 questions which shall cover each 
of the topics described in paragraph (5) of this subsection. 

 
(8) To successfully complete the training program, each employee or volunteer shall achieve 

a score of 70% or more correct on an individual examination. If the examination is taken on-
line, the employee or volunteer shall retain a certificate of completion indicating they 

successfully completed the course. 

 
(9) The department may assess a fee of $125 to each applicant to cover the costs of the 
department's initial review and each follow-up review of a training and examination 
program. 

 
(10) Applications and fees shall be mailed to the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing 
Group, Department of State Health Services, Mail Code 2003, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 

78714-9347. Applications may be obtained by calling the Environmental and Sanitation 
Licensing Group at (512) 834-6600 or may be downloaded from 
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm. 

 
(11) The department, at least every five years from the date of initial approval, shall review 
each training and examination program approved by the department to ensure the program 
continues to meet the criteria and guidelines established under this subsection. 

 
(j) Supervised contact with campers. 

 

(1) A person supervising another person who is prohibited from having unsupervised contact 
with campers: 

 

(A) may include one or more paid or unpaid members of camp staff or management; law 
enforcement officers; security personnel; lifeguards or other responsible staff at any off-

site facility; or parents or other adults; 

 

(B) must be charged with responsibility to monitor, oversee, or supervise the person on behalf 
of the licensee or camp management; and 

 
(C) must have the ability and means to summon competent assistance at all times while 
remaining within sight and hearing distance of the supervised person. 

 

(2) A person who is prohibited from having unsupervised contact with campers must be 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm
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supervised at all times during which that person has or might have any contact with one or 

more campers, whether intentional or unintentional, and whether part of scheduled camp 
activities or not. The potential for contact with campers by a person is presumed at all times 

during which one or more campers are present at the facility at which the person is present 
unless there is an impassable barrier between them. 

 
(k) Records retention. All applications, background check reports, training documentation, and 

other required personnel documentation required by this subchapter shall be maintained in 
hard copy or electronic format for a minimum of two years following a person's last day of 

service. If the youth camp is notified of an investigation or conviction of a camp staff member 
for an act of sexual abuse, as defined by §21.02 of the Texas Penal Code, which occurred at 
the camp, the camp shall retain all records related to the investigation or conviction until the 

department notifies the camp that the record retention is no longer required. 

 
§265.13 Site and Physical Facilities 

 
(a)Safety of camp facility. The buildings, structures, and grounds shall not present a fire, 

health, or safety hazard. 

 
(b) Accumulation of refuse and debris. The premises of each camp shall be kept free of 
accumulations of refuse and debris. 

 
(c) Compliance with building, plumbing, electrical and life safety codes. All camp buildings 
shall comply with applicable building, plumbing, electrical, life safety, and similar codes. 

 
(d) Permanent living or sleeping structures. All permanent structures used for living or 

sleeping purposes in the camp shall be provided with walls, floors, and ceilings that shall be 
kept clean and in good repair. 

 
(e)Separate beds, bunks or cots. A separate bed, bunk, or cot shall be required for each 

person. Beds shall be spaced in a manner that is free of obstruction for entering and exiting. 

 
(f) Bunk bed guardrails. In all rooms housing campers, all bunk beds shall have at least two 
guardrails, one on each side of the bed for each bed having the underside of its foundation 

more than 30 inches from the floor in accordance with the Code of Federal Regulations 
(CFR), 16 CFR, Part 1513.3. Bunk beds securely attached to a wall may utilize the wall as 
one guardrail. 

 
(g) Location of sleeping quarters. Sleeping shall not be permitted in kitchens or in rooms 
used for food preparation, storage, or service. 

 
(h) Bedding provided by the camp. All articles of bedding provided by the camp, including 

mattresses and mattress covers, shall be kept clean and in good repair. Any bedroll 
provided by the camp and used by campers must be properly cleaned between use by 
different individuals. 

 

(i) Toilets and urinals. The camp shall provide at least one toilet for every 15 females and one 
toilet for every 15 males. In each male toilet facility, up to 70% of the toilets required may be 
urinals. In facilities with more than one toilet, some means of privacy must be provided for 
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each toilet. 

 

(j) Lavatories. The camp shall provide at least one lavatory adjacent to toilet facilities. In 
facilities with more than five toilets or urinals in a room, there must be a minimum of two 
lavatories. 

 
(k) Hand cleanser required. Each lavatory shall be equipped with one of the following 
methods to sanitize hands: 

 
(1) lavatories with hot and cold running water shall have soap or hand cleanser available at all 

times; 
 

(2) lavatories with only cold running water shall have hand sanitizer or anti-bacterial soap 
available at all times; or 

 
(3) portable toilet facilities not equipped with lavatories providing water shall have waterless 

hand sanitizer available at all times. 

 
(l) Shower facilities. Resident youth camps shall provide at least one shower for every 15 
females and one shower for every 15 males. Each shower shall be equipped with water to 

meet the needs of the campers. There shall be soap or body cleanser available at all times. 

 
(m) Cleanliness and sanitation of toilets, lavatories and bathing facilities. All toilets, 
lavatories, and bathing facilities shall be maintained in good repair and kept clean at all times. 

Every shower room floor shall be washed daily with a suitable detergent or sanitizing agent. 

 
(n) Availability of toilet tissue. Toilet tissue shall be available at all times for each toilet. 

 
(o) Lighting and ventilation in toilet and bathing facilities. All permanent toilets and bathing 

structures shall be adequately ventilated and properly lighted. 

 
(p) Public water supply. If a youth camp water supply meets the definition of a public water 
system, then all water used for human consumption or which may be used in the preparation 

of foods or beverages or for the cleaning of any utensil or article used in the course of 
preparation or consumption of food or beverages for human beings, or which is used for 
bathing, swimming in a pool or spa, or any other use in which incidental ingestion may 

occur, shall come from a Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) approved 
drinking water source that meets all applicable standards of 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter 

D (relating to Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems) and Subchapter F (relating to 
Drinking Water Standards Governing Drinking Water Quality And Reporting Requirements for 

Public Water Systems), as amended. 

 
(q) Private water supply. Youth camps having water supplies that do not meet the definition of 
a public water system or that are not regulated by the TCEQ shall comply with the following 

requirements when the camp is open or operational unless otherwise indicated. 

 
(1) Water supply. An adequate supply of water shall be available at all times in each camp 
in accordance with the following table. 
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Figure: 25 TAC §265.13(q)(1) 

Type of Establishment 

Minimum 
Gallons/Person/Day 

(GPD) 

Youth camps without flush toilets, 
showers, or dining halls 

6 

Youth camps with flush toilets, but no 
showers or dining halls 

24 

Youth camps with flush toilets, 

showers, and dining halls 

42 

Camps with swimming pools - add 
this amount to GPD above 

12 

 

(2) Water pressure. The system shall be designed to maintain a minimum pressure of 35 
pounds per square inch (psi) at all points within the distribution network at flow rates of at 
least 1.5 gallons per minute per connection. When the system is intended to provide fire 

fighting capability, it shall also be designed to maintain a minimum pressure of 20 psi under 
combined fire and drinking water flow conditions. Minimum distribution pressure shall not be 

less than 20 psi at any time. 

 

(3) Bacteriological properties. 

 
(A) Water systems serving camps shall submit a minimum of one water sample for testing for 
total coliform, fecal coliform, E. coli, or other fecal indicator organisms, for the month prior to 

camp opening and each month the camp is in operation. 

 
(B) Testing for microbial contaminants shall be performed at a laboratory certified by TCEQ. 

 

(C) If a routine distribution coliform sample is coliform-positive, then the camp shall issue a 
written boil water notification to all camp staff and volunteers. The notification shall state, "To 
ensure destruction of all harmful bacteria and other microbes, water for drinking, cooking, and 

ice making shall be boiled and cooled prior to consumption. The water shall be brought to a 
vigorous rolling boil and then boiled for two minutes. In lieu of boiling, purchased bottled 
water, water obtained from some other suitable source, or ice obtained from an approved 

source may be used." 

 
(D) The boil water notification shall remain in effect until a repeat distribution coliform 

sample is coliform- negative. 

 
(E) Records of all bacteriological tests and of any boil water notification shall be kept on site. 

 
(4) Chemical properties. 

 
(A) Camps shall submit a water sample obtained from the entry point to the distribution 

system to a laboratory for chemical analysis at least once every three years. 

 
(B) The chemical analysis shall be for secondary constituent levels. 
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(C) Maximum secondary constituent levels are as described in the following table. 
 

 

 

Figure: 25 TAC §265.13(q)(4)(C) 

Constituent 

Level 

(mg/l except where otherwise 
stated) 

Aluminum 0.05 to 0.2 

Chloride 300 

Color 15 color units 

Copper 1.0 

Corrosivity Non-corrosive 

Fluoride 2.0 

Foaming agents 0.5 

Hydrogen sulfide 0.05 

Iron 0.3 

Manganese 0.05 

Odor 3 Threshold Odor Number 

pH >7.0 

Silver 0.1 

Sulfate 300 

Total Dissolved Solids 1,000 

Zinc 5.0 

 

 
(D) Records of all chemical testing shall be kept on site. 

 
(5) Minimum residual disinfectant concentrations and maximum residual disinfectant levels 
(MRDLs). 

 
(A) The minimum residual disinfectant concentration in the water entering the distribution 

system and the water within the distribution system shall be 0.2 milligrams per liter (mg/L) 
free chlorine or 0.5 mg/L chloramine. 

 
(B) The MRDL of chlorine dioxide in the water entering the distribution system shall be 0.8 

mg/L. 

 
(C) The MRDL of free chlorine or chloramine in the water within the distribution system shall 
be 4.0 mg/L based on a running annual average. 

 
(6) Backflow prevention. The plumbing system shall preclude backflow of a solid, liquid, or gas 
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contaminant into the water supply system at each point of use, including on a hose bib, by: 

 
(A) providing an air gap between the water supply inlet and the flood level rim of a plumbing 
fixture, equipment, or nonfood equipment that is at least twice the diameter of the water 

supply inlet and not less than 25 mm (1 inch); or 

 

(B) installing an approved backflow prevention device that meets the American Society of 
Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) standards for construction, installation, maintenance, 
inspection, and testing for that specific application and type of device. 

 
(7) Disinfection of new or repaired water system facilities. 

 
(A) When repairs are made to existing mains or when new main extensions are installed, they 

shall be disinfected using such amounts of chlorine compounds as to fill the repaired or new 
mains and appurtenances with water containing 50 ppm chlorine. 

 

(B) After the water containing this amount of chlorine, which is greater than that normally 
present in drinking water, has been in contact with the pipe and appurtenances for at least 24 
hours, the main shall be flushed until the free chlorine or chloramine in the water within the 
new or repaired distribution system is less than 4.0 mg/L. 

 
(C) A sample of water from the new or repaired main shall be submitted to a laboratory 
certified by TCEQ for bacteriological examination so as to be assured that the disinfection 

procedure was effective. 

 
(8) Calcium hypochlorite. A supply of calcium hypochlorite disinfectant shall be kept on hand 
for use when making repairs and repairing line breaks. 

 
(9) Lead control. Use of pipes and pipe fittings that contain more than 8.0% lead or solders 

and flux that contain more than 0.2% lead is prohibited for installation or repair of any water 
supply and for installation or repair of any plumbing in a residential or nonresidential facility 

providing water for human consumption. This requirement may be waived for lead joints that 
are necessary for repairs to cast iron pipe. 

 
(10) Flushing of water system mains. All dead-end mains should be flushed at monthly 

intervals or more frequently to maintain water quality. 

 
(11) Collection system location. 

 
(A) No sanitary sewers or septic tanks shall be allowed within a distance of 50 feet of any well 
used for drinking water. No cesspool or septic tank open-jointed drain field shall be allowed 

within a distance of 150 feet of any well used for drinking water. 

 
(B) Storm sewers located within specified distances for sanitary sewers shall be constructed so 

as to prevent leakage from them. 

 
(C) Water lines and sanitary sewers shall be installed no closer to each other than nine feet. 

 
(12) Well logs. Copies of well material setting data, geological log, sealing information 
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(pressure cementing and surface protection), disinfection information, bacteriological sample 

results, and a chemical analysis report of a representative sample of water from the well shall 
be kept on file. 

 
(13) Interconnection. No physical connection between the distribution system of a camp 

water supply and that of any other water supply shall be permitted. 

 

(14) Abandoned wells. Abandoned water supply wells owned by the camp shall be plugged 
with cement according to 16 TAC Chapter 76 (relating to Water Well Drillers and Water Well 
Pump Installers). Wells that are not in use and are non-deteriorated as defined in those rules 

shall be tested every five years to demonstrate that they are in a non-deteriorated condition. 
Deteriorated wells shall be either plugged with cement or repaired to a non-deteriorated 

condition. 

 

(r) Disposal of youth camp wastewater. All camp wastewater shall be disposed of into a 
community sanitary sewage system or an approved On-site Sewage Facility in accordance with 

30 TAC Chapter 285 (relating to On-Site Sewage Facilities). In remote areas, the use of 
chemical toilets is allowed, if the facilities are built and maintained in accordance with 
manufacturer designs. 

 
(s) Disposal of solid waste. Solid wastes shall be disposed of at a TCEQ approved sanitary 
landfill or other disposal facility approved by TCEQ under 30 TAC Chapter 330 (relating to 
Municipal Solid Waste). 

 

(t) Permanent food preparation, storage and service areas. Permanent food preparation, 
storage and service areas shall be maintained in compliance with Chapter 228 of this title 

(relating to Retail Food). Items inspected may include, but are not limited to: 

 
(1) proper cooling for cooked/prepared food; 

 
(2) cold hold (41 degrees Fahrenheit/45 degrees Fahrenheit); 

 
(3) hot hold (135 degrees Fahrenheit); 

 
(4) proper cooking temperatures; 

 
(5) rapid reheating (165 degrees Fahrenheit in 2 hours); 

 
(6) personnel with infections restricted/excluded; 

 
(7) proper/adequate hand washing; 

 
(8) good hygienic practices (eating/drinking/smoking/other); 

 
(9) approved source/labeling; 

 
(10) sound condition - food is not from unapproved sources or in unsound condition; 

 
(11) proper handling of ready-to-eat foods; 
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(12) no cross-contamination of raw/cooked foods/other; 

 
(13) approved systems (HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) plans/time as 

public health control); 

 
(14) water supply - approved sources/sufficient capacity/hot and cold water under pressure; 

 
(15) equipment adequate to maintain product temperature; 

 
(16) hand wash facilities adequate and accessible; 

 
(17) hand wash facilities equipped with soap and towels; 

 
(18) no evidence of insect contamination; 

 

(19) no evidence of rodents/other animals; 

 

(20) toxic items properly labeled/stored/used; 

 

(21) manual/mechanical ware washing and sanitizing at proper ppm/temperature; 

 
(22) manager demonstration of knowledge of safe food handling procedures; 

 
(23) approved sewage/wastewater disposal system, proper disposal; 

 
(24) thermometers provided/accurate/properly calibrated (Â±2 degrees Fahrenheit); 

 

(25) food contact surfaces of equipment and utensils cleaned/sanitized/good repair; and 

 

(26) posting of consumer advisories (abdominal thrust/disclosure/reminder/buffet plate). 

 
(u) Playgrounds and equipment. Playgrounds and playground equipment shall meet the 
standards set forth in the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission Publication Number 

325, "Public Playground Safety Handbook," November 2010. Equipment that does not meet 
these standards may not be used by campers. 

 
§265.14 Primitive or Wilderness Camp 

 
(a)Maintenance and operation of primitive campsites. Primitive campsites shall be maintained 
and operated in a safe and healthful manner. 

 
(b) Drinking water at primitive camp, on hikes, or on trips away. Drinking water used at 

primitive camps and on hikes and trips away from permanent campsites shall be from a 
source known to be safe or shall be rendered safe. 

 
(c) Toilet facilities at primitive campsites. Primitive campsites that are not provided with 

approved toilet facilities shall have a separate toilet area designated for each sex. Slit 
trenches or cat holes with a readily available supply of clean earth backfill or other disposal 
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methods approved by the department's Policy, Standards and Quality Assurance Unit, shall be 

utilized for the disposal of human excreta in these areas. Approval shall be received in writing 
prior to implementation. Toilet areas shall be located at least 150 feet from a stream, lake, or 

well, and at least 75 feet from a campsite, tent, or other sleeping or housing facility. 

 
(d) Disposal of solid wastes at primitive campsites. Solid wastes that are generated in primitive 
camps shall be disposed of at a TCEQ approved sanitary landfill or other disposal facility 

approved by TCEQ under 30 TAC, Chapter 330, Municipal Solid Waste. 

 
(e)Food service at primitive campsites. Only foods that can be maintained in a wholesome 
condition with the equipment available shall be used at primitive camps. 

 
(f) Use of hot water and detergent to wash food utensils. Hot water and detergent shall be 
used to wash all food utensils after each meal at primitive campsites. 

 
(g) Supervision of campers at primitive camps. Campers utilizing primitive camps shall be 

adequately supervised at all times by a responsible adult who is knowledgeable concerning 
proper wilderness camping techniques. A minimum ratio of one such supervising adult for 
each ten campers shall be maintained in the immediate vicinity (within sight and/or hearing) 

of the campers. 

 

§265.15 Medical and Nursing Care 

 

(a)Record of an on-call physician required. Documentation shall be kept on file of a 
physician licensed to practice in Texas who is available to be on call at all times to advise 

health service personnel on all first aid and nursing services provided by the camp. 

 
(b) Emergency transportation. Transportation shall be available at all times to transport any 
sick or injured camper in an emergency. 

 

(c) Medical staffing requirements. A physician, registered nurse, licensed vocational nurse, or a 
person with an American Red Cross Emergency Response certificate, or its equivalent, shall be 
in the camp and on call at all times, and will be considered the Camp Health Officer. For 

camps having documented evidence, such as a letter from the local emergency medical 
services (EMS), that the camp is located within a 20-minute community EMS response time, a 

person certified in American Red Cross Community First Aid and Safety, or its equivalent, shall 
be in the camp and on call at all times, and will be considered the Camp Health Officer. 

 
(d) Requirement to report incidents of abuse or neglect of a minor. 

 
(1) Requirement to report incidents of abuse or neglect of a minor at a youth camp. 

 
(A) If a person, including any member of camp staff, a camp counselor, or camp director has 
cause to believe that a minor has been or may have been abused or neglected as those terms 

are defined in the Texas Family Code, Chapter 261, and the abuse or neglect occurred at the 
youth camp, then that person shall immediately make a report, in accordance with Texas 
Family Code, §261.101(a) to one of the appropriate agencies designated by Texas Family 

Code, §261.103. Accordingly, a report shall be made to: 
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(i) any local or state law enforcement agency; 

 
(ii) the Department of Family and Protective Services Abuse Hotline, which may be contacted 
at (800) 252- 5400 or through the secure web site http://www.txabusehotline.org/; or 

 
(iii) the Department of State Health Services. 

 
(B) If a person making a report in accordance with subparagraph (A) of this paragraph has not 
already notified the Department of State Health Services as part of such a report, the person 
shall also immediately notify the Department of State Health Services' Policy, Standards, and 

Quality Assurance Unit by phone at 
(512) 834-6788, by fax at (512) 834-6707, or by email at PHSCPS@dshs.texas.gov that a 

minor has been or may have been abused or neglected at a youth camp. 

 
(2) Requirement to report incidents of abuse or neglect of a minor other than at a youth camp. 
If a person, including any member of camp staff, a camp counselor, or camp director has 

cause to believe that a minor has been or may have been abused or neglected as those terms 
are defined in the Texas Family Code, Chapter 261, and the abuse or neglect did not occur at 
the youth camp, then that person shall immediately make a report, in accordance with Texas 

Family Code, §261.103. 

 
(A) Except as provided by subparagraphs (B), (C) and (D) of this paragraph, a report shall be 

made to: 

 
(i) any local or state law enforcement agency; 

 

(ii) the Department of Family and Protective Services Abuse Hotline, which may be contacted 
at (800) 252- 5400 or through the secure web site http://www.txabusehotline.org/; or 

 

(iii) the agency designated by the court to be responsible for the protection of children. 

 

(B) A report may be made to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department instead of the entities 
listed under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph if the report is based on information 
provided by a child while under the supervision of the Texas Juvenile Justice Department 

concerning the child's alleged abuse of another child. 

 
(C) Notwithstanding subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, a report, other than a report under 
subparagraph (D) of this paragraph, shall be made to the Department of Family and 
Protective Services if the alleged or suspected abuse or neglect involves a person responsible 

for the care, custody, or welfare of the child. 

 
(D) A report of alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation in any juvenile justice program or facility 

shall be made to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department and a local law enforcement agency 
for investigation. 
 

(3) The youth camp must develop and maintain a written policy regarding the method for 
reporting to the Department of State Health Services suspected abuse or neglect of a minor 

occurring at the camp. This policy must be maintained on-site. 

 

http://www.txabusehotline.org/%3B
mailto:PHSCPS@dshs.texas.gov
http://www.txabusehotline.org/%3B
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(4) The Department of State Health Services, by policy, shall forward a report of alleged abuse 

of a camper that is received by the Department of State Health Services to the Department of 
Family and Protective Services or another appropriate agency. 

 
(e)Requirement to report camper death or communicable diseases. Camper death or 

confirmed cases of waterborne or foodborne diseases, such as cholera, dysentery, typhoid, 
salmonellosis, shigellosis, or infectious hepatitis, shall be reported to the Department of State 

Health Services' Policy, Standards, and Quality Assurance Unit, within 24 hours of occurrence 
(or confirmation in the case of disease) by fax at 
(512) 834-6707, or by email at PHSCPS@dshs.texas.gov. 

 
(f) Designation of a first aid area. A first aid area, used exclusively to handle health and 
emergency cases, shall be designated and suitably equipped. Supplies should be in single use 

packaging. A first aid kit containing at the minimum the items listed in this subsection shall be 
available in the first aid area. 

 
(1) Sterile adhesive bandages in assorted sizes. 

 
(2) Sterile gauze pads in assorted sizes. 

 
(3) Hypoallergenic adhesive tape. 

 
(4) Triangular bandages. 

 
(5) Sterile roller bandages in assorted sizes. 

 
(6) Scissors. 

 
(7) Tweezers. 

 
(8) Moistened towelettes. 

 
(9) Antiseptic. 

 
(10) Thermometer. 

 

(11) Splints. 

 

(12) Petroleum jelly or other lubricant. 

 

(13) Cleansing agent/soap. 

 

(14) Exam quality gloves. 

 
(15) Eye wash solution. 

 
(g) Isolation of a child with a communicable disease. A child ill with a confirmed or suspected 
case of a communicable disease shall be isolated to provide safety to other children and quiet 

to the patient. Any child that is isolated shall be supervised as determined by the Camp Health 

mailto:PHSCPS@dshs.texas.gov
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Officer. A child with a staphylococcal skin infection is not required to be isolated, if the 

infection is kept completely covered by a bandage. 
 

(h) Medical log required. A bound medical log, or other unalterable record keeping system, 
listing date, name of the patient, ailment, name of the Camp Health Officer, and the 

treatment prescribed shall be kept in the first aid area for the duration of the camp year for 
which the license is issued. 

 
(i) Camper health records shall be kept on file. The first aid area shall keep a health record on 

each child with the child's name, allergies, immunizations, parent's name, address, and 
telephone number, and parent or guardian authorization for emergency medical care. 

 
(j) Availability of an emergency telephone. The camp shall have a telephone readily available, 

preferably in the first aid area, for emergency use. 

 
(k) Emergency plans required. A written plan of procedures to be implemented in case of a 
disaster, serious accident, epidemic, or fatality shall be formulated and posted in the camp's 

administrative on-site office or location and in each permanent and semi-permanent occupied 
building. The plan shall include procedures for emergency shelter and for evacuation of each 

occupied building and the facility. Campers shall be instructed as to their actions in the event 
of fire, disaster, or the need to evacuate. These procedures shall be reviewed by the staff with 
specific assignments made to each staff member and counselor. All camp staff and volunteers 

shall be made aware of this plan during the staff-training program or volunteer briefing. 
Documentation of this training shall be kept at the camp's administrative on-site office or 

location. 

 
(l) Storing and dispensing prescription medication to campers. If a child is taking a 
prescription medication when he or she reports to camp, the medication shall be in the 

original container with the prescription label, and the medical staff shall place that medication, 
sharps, and related paraphernalia or devices in a lockable cabinet or other secure location that 
is not accessible to campers. The medication shall be administered by the Camp Health Officer 

or camp counselor, if authorized in writing by the Camp Health Officer. At no time shall the 
child be allowed to self-administer the medication without adult supervision. Medications 

needed for immediate use for life-threatening conditions (e.g., bee-sting medication, inhaler) 
and limited medications approved for use in first-aid kits may be carried by a camper or staff 
person. The camp shall have on file a written statement of medical necessity from the 

prescribing doctor or the written approval of the Camp Health Officer for any camper to carry 
medication and related paraphernalia or devices. 

 
(m) Camp trip first aid kits. First aid kits containing at the minimum the items listed in 
subsection (f) of this section shall be taken on all out-of-camp trips. 

 
§265.16 Waterfront Safety 

 
(a)Adult waterfront director required at youth camps. An adult waterfront director, who holds 

a current lifeguard certificate or its equivalent, shall be in charge of all waterfront activities. 
While waterfront activities are in progress, the waterfront director or an adult certified 

lifeguard assistant shall be in the immediate vicinity (within sight and/or hearing) of the 
campers, supervising the program. 
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(b) Responsibilities of the waterfront director. The waterfront director is to be responsible for 
all waterfront supervision procedures and is responsible for ensuring that the waterfront 
procedures are strictly enforced. The waterfront staff shall not engage in personal recreational 

swimming, boating or any other waterfront activity while on waterfront duty. For every 35 
campers, or fraction thereof, engaged in waterfront activities, there shall be one certified 
lifeguard and one additional person (either a certified lifeguard or trained adult lookout) on 

duty. Camps utilizing natural bodies of water such as rivers, lakes, or creeks may need to 
increase this ratio. 

 
(c) Maintenance and operation of swimming areas. 

 

(1) Swimming areas shall be maintained and operated in a safe and clean condition. Youth 
camp swimming pools are class C pools, and shall be built, operated, and maintained in 

accordance with 25 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 265, General Sanitation, 
Subchapter L, Standards for Public Pools and Spas. 

 
(2) Interactive water features and fountains at youth camps shall be maintained and operated 

in a safe and clean condition. Interactive water features and fountains at youth camps shall be 
built, operated, and maintained in accordance with 25 TAC, Chapter 265, General Sanitation, 
Subchapter M, Interactive Water Features and Fountains. 

 
(d) Camper's swimming ability shall be determined in accordance with the camp's written 
swimming test policy. Camps shall test to determine each child's swimming ability. Children 
shall then be confined to the limits of swimming skills for which they have been classified. 

Also, the swimming area shall have areas for non-swimmers, intermediate swimmers, and 
swimmers clearly marked. 

 
(e)Checking campers in and out of the water. A method of checking campers in and out of the 
water shall be established and enforced. 

 
(f) Waterfront lifesaving equipment shall be provided. Lifesaving equipment suitable for the 

waterfront activity shall be provided at the waterfront activity area and placed so the 
equipment is immediately available in case of an emergency. All lifesaving equipment shall be 
kept in good repair and ready condition. At a minimum, this equipment shall include the 

following. 

 
(1) A rescue tube or rescue buoy with strap, or a ring buoy that is approved by the United 
States Coast Guard that has an outside diameter of 15 to 24 inches attached to a throwing 

rope that is at least two-thirds the maximum width of the pool with a diameter of 1/4-inch to 
3/8-inch. 

 
(2) One or more backboards with a minimum of 3 tie down straps and head immobilizer for 

back and neck injuries. 

 
(3) A first aid kit that includes the items listed in §265.15(f) of this title (relating to 

Medical and Nursing Care). 

 
(g) Providing a personal flotation device. A Coast Guard approved Personal Flotation Device 
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(PFD) shall be readily available for each occupant of a watercraft. Each occupant of a 

watercraft 12 years of age and under shall wear a United States Coast Guard (USCG) 
approved inherently buoyant Type II PFD, or Near-Shore Buoyancy Vest at all times while in 

the watercraft. A non-swimmer shall wear a USCG approved inherently buoyant Type II PFD, 
or Near-Shore Buoyancy Vest and not be permitted in a watercraft unless accompanied by a 

counselor. A camper shall wear a vest type USCG approved preserver before entering and 
while in white water or before entering and while on a lake when the water is rough or while 
waterskiing. 

 
(h) Location of swimming areas. Swimming areas shall be used exclusively for swimming 
while swimming is occurring. A watercraft docking area shall not be allowed in the swimming 

area and water skiers shall not launch, cross, or stop in the swimming area while swimming 
is occurring. 

 

§265.17 Program Safety and Equipment 

 
(a)Firearm or pellet gun programs at youth camps. A firearm or pellet gun program shall be 
conducted on a range that meets or exceeds the specifications outlined by the National Rifle 

Association or its equivalent. Safety procedures shall be enforced whenever the range is in 
use. The range shall be conspicuously marked and configured to prevent entry of campers 
onto the range while it is in use. 

 

(b) Archery program at youth camps. An archery program shall be conducted on a range that 
meets or exceeds the specifications outlined by the National Field Archery Association or its 
equivalent. The archery range shall be conspicuously marked and configured to prevent entry 

of campers onto the range while it is in use. 

 
(c) Program equipment condition and use. Equipment used in all programs shall be kept in 

good condition and present no hazard as a result of poor condition to the user at any time. 

 
(d) Storage of firearms, pellet guns, and archery equipment when not in use. Firearms, pellet 
guns, ammunition, and archery equipment shall be kept in a secured area when not in use. 

 
(e)Safety and maintenance of tools used by campers. All tools, including power tools, used by 

campers shall be maintained in good repair, shall have the necessary safety guard attached, 
and shall be used only under supervision. 

 
(f) Horseback riding programs. 

 
(1) Camps providing horseback riding programs shall require the head instructor or director of 
the program to follow the camp's riding program and safety procedures outlined in a written 

document. This document shall include the following: 

 
(A) procedures to be followed in the event of an accident; 

 
(B) procedures to determine each horse's suitability for safe use; 

 
(C) proper care of tack and equipment; 
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(D) proper procedure for mounting; 

 
(E) the number of riders per supervisor; and 

 
(F) any other information that is specific to the camp's equestrian program or is helpful to the 
horseback riding director. 

 
(2) Camps providing horseback riding programs shall: 

 
(A) ensure that horses that are in use are sound and in good physical condition; 

 
(B) ensure that the stable area is kept clean and free of all hazards; and 

 

(C) require all riders (campers and instructional staff) to wear appropriate protective helmets. 

 

(g) Adventure/challenge courses. Camps providing an adventure/challenge program utilizing 
belaying, spotting, or non-spotting elements must: 

 

(1) designate a certified adventure/challenge program manager, who shall be in attendance 
whenever the adventure/challenge program is operating; 

 
(2) ensure that the adventure/challenge program is operated and maintained in a safe 
manner; 

 
(3) develop a set of site-specific policies and procedures, which establish criteria for all 
adventure/challenge operations, including equipment used and safety precautions; 

 
(4) ensure that spotters and belayers are instructed in the proper procedures prior to 

assuming their duties, and that they are directly supervised until competency is 
demonstrated; 

 

(5) establish a method to control access to the equipment and the activity area in order to 
prevent use by unauthorized or unsupervised campers; 

 
(6) perform safety checks of all equipment and ropes prior to each use and maintain a record 
of all inspections and maintenance; 

 
(7) provide a safety orientation for each camper prior to allowing the camper to engage in 
adventure/challenge activities; 

 
(8) ensure that all campers engaged in adventure/challenge activities are wearing appropriate 

personal protective equipment; and 

 
(9) provide documentation of an annual physical inspection of the adventure/challenge course 
and equipment by an insured third party inspector. 

 
§265.18 Fire Prevention 

 
(a)Fire and safety codes. Facilities at all youth camps shall meet local fire and safety codes. 
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(b) Fire exits in buildings. All buildings in which groups of people live, eat, sleep, or assemble 
shall be provided with ready exits for use in case of fire and these exits shall be conspicuously 

marked. 

 
(c) Storage of flammable or explosive materials. Containers of gasoline, flammables, or 
explosives shall be plainly marked and stored in a locked area separate and apart from any 

and all permanent and semi- permanent structures used by campers. The presence of such 
materials shall be kept to a minimum. 

 
§265.19 Maintenance and Safe Use of Motor Vehicles 

 
(a)Inspection of vehicles used for transportation of campers. Any vehicle used for transporting 
children on public roadways shall have all current and applicable Department of Public Safety 
vehicle inspections. 

 
(b) First aid kits in vehicles transporting campers or staff. Every vehicle used for transporting 
staff or campers off site shall be equipped with a first aid kit containing the items listed in 
§265.15(f) of this title (relating to Medical and Nursing Care) and emergency equipment such 

as fire extinguishers, tools, and flares. 

 

(c) Drivers shall have a valid driver's license. All drivers shall be adults and hold a valid 
driver's license appropriate for the type of vehicle being driven. 

 

(d) Safety belts. In any vehicle used for transportation of campers that is equipped with safety 
belts or that is required by any law to be equipped with safety belts: 

 

(1) the safety belts shall be in good working condition; and 

 
(2) all campers shall wear the safety belts provided when the vehicle is in motion. 

 
§265.20 Farm and Domestic Animals 

 
(a)Location of animals. Horses and other animals maintained at any camp shall be quartered 

at a reasonable distance from any sleeping, living, eating, or food preparation area. 
 

(b) Location of stables or corrals. Stables and corrals shall be located so as to prevent 
contamination of any water supply. Manure shall be removed from stalls and corrals as often 

as necessary to prevent a fly problem. 

 
(c) Animals in waterfront areas prohibited. Horses, dogs, or other domestic animals or pets 
shall not be permitted on a beach or in the water near the beach when in use for waterfront 

activities. 

 
(d) Rabies vaccinations of animals. All dogs and cats owned or under the supervision of anyone 
on the camp premises shall be currently vaccinated against rabies in compliance with Health 

and Safety Code, §826.021. Evidence of vaccination shall be provided to a department 
representative upon request. 
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§265.21 Insect and Rodent Control 

 
(a)Prevention of insect, rodent or other pest infestations. The camp management shall 
maintain every building used or intended for human habitation in a manner to keep it free 
from insects, rodents, and other pests. 

 
(b) Storage of chemical control agents. Chemical control agents, insecticides, rodenticides, and 
other hazardous chemicals shall have the containers plainly marked and be stored in a locked 

area not accessible to campers. The presence of such chemicals shall be kept to a minimum. 

 
§265.22 Nudity Prohibited 

 
A youth camp may not allow campers or staff to be nude except when bathing, showering, 
changing clothing, or receiving medical care. 

 
§265.23 Application and Denial of a New License; Non-transferable 

 
(a)License required. A person shall possess a valid youth camp license prior to operating a 
youth camp. 

 
(1) Submitting an application. An application is made by submitting: 

 
(A) a completed youth camp application; 

 
(B) an activity schedule showing dates and detailed information about the activities that are 
conducted both at the camp and at other locations; 

 
(C) any other requested documents and information; and 

 

(D) paying the license fee as described in §265.28 of this title (relating to Fees). 

 

(2) Obtaining an application. A blank application may be obtained by calling the Environmental 
and Sanitation Licensing Group at (512) 834-6600 or may be downloaded from the website at 
www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm. Applications may be submitted to the 

Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group, Department of State Health Services, Mail 
Code 2003, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-9347. 

 
(3) Qualifying for a youth camp license. Subject to subsection (j) of this section, the 

department shall issue a license if the facility: 

 
(A) meets the definition of a "Youth camp" as described in §265.11(25) of this title (relating to 
Definitions); and 

 

(B) is in compliance, or has demonstrated a plan for compliance, with all provisions of the Act 
and the rules prior to operation as determined by: 

 
(i) submitting a complete application as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection; and 

 
(ii) passing a pre-licensing inspection conducted by the department, using the standard youth 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm
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camp inspection form that may be found at 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm. 

 
(b) Processing applications. 

 
(1) Applications for a new license issued under this chapter shall be submitted to the 

Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group at least 90 calendar days prior to camp 
operation. 

 
(2) The department shall issue the new license or a written notice that the application is 

complete or that the application is deficient within the following periods of time. The 
department shall identify deficiencies in the notice, provide a deadline by which the 

deficiencies shall be corrected, and inform the applicant of the need for a pre-licensing 
inspection. Deficiencies may include the failure to provide required information, documents, or 
fees. An application is not considered complete until all required documentation, information, 

and fees have been received. 

 
(A) Letter of acceptance of application for licensure approving the license and authorizing 
operation after successfully passing the pre-licensing inspection - within 30 days after the 

date of passing the pre-licensing inspection. The original license may serve as the letter of 
acceptance. 

 
(B) Letter of application deficiency - within 30 days after receipt of a deficient application. 

 
(C) Letter of pre-licensing inspection deficiency - a notice of deficiency will be issued to the 
camp representative on site at the conclusion of the pre-licensing inspection if any deficiencies 

were noted during the inspection. The camp shall provide documentation that all deficiencies 
have been corrected within 10 days after the inspection or prior to camp operation, whichever 
comes first. 

 
(3) In the event that an application for a new license is not processed within the timeframe 
established in paragraph (2)(A) of this subsection, and no good cause exists for the delay, the 
applicant has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular application 

process so long as a complete application was submitted at least 90 calendar days prior to 
camp operation. Requests for reimbursement shall be made in writing to the Environmental 

and Sanitation Licensing Group. Good cause for exceeding the time period is considered to 
exist if the number of applications for licensure exceeds by 15% or more the number of 
applications processed the same calendar quarter of the preceding year or any other condition 

exists giving the department good cause for exceeding the time period. 

 

(4) If the request for reimbursement as authorized by paragraph (3) of this subsection is 
denied, the applicant may then appeal to the commissioner for a resolution of the dispute. The 
applicant shall give written notice to the commissioner requesting reimbursement of the fee 

paid because the application was not processed within the established time period. The 
department shall submit a written report of the facts related to the processing of the 
application and good cause for exceeding the established time periods. The commissioner 

shall make the final decision and provide written notification of the decision to the applicant 
and to the department. 

 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm
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(c) Record availability. All records, except criminal background and sex offender registration 

database checks (including any written evaluation for any staff member or volunteer with a 
criminal conviction or deferred adjudication), required by this subchapter shall be made 

available to the department immediately upon request. Criminal background and sex offender 
registration database checks (including any written evaluation for any staff member or 

volunteer with a criminal conviction or deferred adjudication) shall be made available to the 
department within two business days upon request. 
 

(d) Term of license. The term of a youth camp license shall be one year, beginning on the date 
of issuance. 

 

(e)License non-transferable. A youth camp license is not transferable and may not be sold, 
assigned, or otherwise transferred. Any new entity that acquires the operation of a youth 
camp through sale, assignment, or other transfer shall obtain a new license. 

 
(f) Ownership change. A new application, fee, pre-licensing inspection, and license is required 
if there is a change in ownership. 

 
(g) Name change. If a camp changes its name during operation, but does not change location 

or ownership, then a new license certificate may be issued if requested using the form 
designated by the department, available at 
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm, accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of 

$20. 

 
(h) Location change. A new application, fee, pre-licensing inspection, and license is required if 
there is a change in physical camp location. 

 
(i) Duplicate license. A duplicate license may be issued if requested using the form designated 
by the department, available at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm, 

accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $20. 

 
(j) Denials. 

 
(1) The department may deny an application for licensing to those who fail to meet the 
standards established by the Act and this subchapter. In making this determination, the 

department shall consider any violation by the applicant of the Act or this subchapter, 
including whether the youth camp employs an individual who was convicted of an act of 

sexual abuse, as defined by §21.02 of the Texas Penal Code, that occurred at the camp. When 
the department proposes to deny an application, it shall give notice of the proposed action in 
writing and shall provide information on how to request an administrative hearing. The 

applicant shall make a written request for a hearing within 30 days from the date on the 
notice letter sent by the department. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the 

Act, the Administrative Procedure Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001, and the formal 
hearing procedures of the department at 25 Texas Administrative Code, §1.21 et seq. 

 
(2) A letter of denial of licensure may be issued within 60 days after the receipt of application 

if the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(A) of this section. 

 
(3) A letter of denial of licensure may be issued if the applicant does not meet the 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm
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requirements of subsection (a)(3)(B) of this section: 

 
(A) within 60 days following the first scheduled date of camp operations if a pre-licensing 
inspection has not been completed; or 

 

(B) within 60 days following the first scheduled date of camp operations if the camp does not 
pass the pre- licensing inspection. 

 
(4) A license holder whose license has been denied or revoked may not reapply for a new 

license for two years from the date of final denial or revocation. 

 
(k) Refunds. 

 

(1) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(A) of this section, the 
application may be denied and the license fee, less a handling fee of $50, may be refunded. If 
an application is denied because the facility does not meet the requirements of subsection 

(a)(3)(A) of this section, the applicant should determine if a license from another agency is 
required. 

 
(2) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(B) of this section, the 

application may be denied and the license fee may not be refunded. 

 
§265.24 Application and Denial of a Renewal License 

 
(a)Renewal of a youth camp license. A person holding a license under the Act shall renew the 

license annually before the license expires. 

 
(b) Renewal notice. At least 60 days before a license expires, the department, as a service to 
the licensee, may send a renewal notice to the licensee or registrant to the last known 
address of the licensee. It remains the responsibility of the licensee to keep the department 

informed of the licensee's current address and to take action to renew the license whether or 
not they have received the notification from the department. The renewal notice shall state: 

 
(1) the type of license requiring renewal; 

 
(2) the time period allowed for renewal; and 

 
(3) the amount of the renewal fee. 

 
(c) Renewal requirements. Renewal applications and fees shall be submitted to the department 

prior to the license's annual expiration date. 

 
(1) Submitting an application. A renewal application is made by submitting: 

 
(A) a completed youth camp renewal application; 

 
(B) an activity schedule showing dates and detailed information about the activities that are 

conducted both at the camp and at other locations; 

 



 
 TEXAS ADMINISTRATIVE CODE: As in effect on 07/07/2020. 
 

 

(C) any other requested documents and information; and 

 
(D) paying the renewal license fee as described in §265.28 of this title (relating to Fees). 

 

(2) Obtaining an application. A blank renewal application may be obtained by calling the 
Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group at (512) 834-6600 or may be downloaded from 
the website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm. Renewal applications may be 

submitted to the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group, Department of State Health 
Services, Mail Code 2003, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-9347. 

 

(3) Qualifying for renewal of a youth camp license. Subject to subsection (k) of this section, 
the department shall issue a renewal license if the facility: 

 
(A) meets the definition of a "Youth camp" as described in §265.11(25) of this title (relating to 
Definitions); and 

 
(B) is in compliance with all provisions of the Act and the rules prior to operation as 
determined by: 

 
(i) submitting a complete renewal application as described in this subsection; 
 

(ii) passing a pre-licensing inspection conducted by the department, if required; and 

 

(iii) complying with all final orders resulting from any violations of this subchapter before the 
application for renewal is submitted. 

 
(d) Processing renewal applications. 

 
(1) Applications for license renewal under this subchapter shall be received by the 

Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group prior to the expiration date of the license or 45 
days prior to camp operation, whichever is earlier. 

 
(2) The department shall issue the renewal license or a written notice that the renewal 

application is complete or that the renewal application is deficient within the following periods 
of time from the date of receipt of the renewal application. The department shall identify 
deficiencies in the notice and provide a deadline by which the deficiencies shall be corrected in 

order for the department to renew the license or to schedule the pre- licensing inspection if 
required. Deficiencies may include the failure to provide required information, documents, or 

fees, or the failure to schedule or successfully pass the pre-licensing inspection if required. An 
application is not considered complete until all required documentation, information, and fees 
have been received. If a camp is subject to pre-licensing inspection, the time period for 

issuing a letter of acceptance of application for license renewal begins upon successfully 
passing inspection. 

 
(A) Letter of acceptance of application for license renewal approving the license and 
authorizing operation - within 30 days. The original license may serve as the letter of 
acceptance. 

 
(B) Letter of renewal application deficiency - within 30 days after receipt of a deficient renewal 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm
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application. 

 
(C) Letter of pre-licensing inspection deficiency - a notice of deficiency will be issued to the 
camp representative on site at the conclusion of the pre-licensing inspection if any deficiencies 

were noted during the inspection. The camp shall provide documentation that all deficiencies 
have been corrected within 10 days after the inspection or prior to camp operation, whichever 
comes first. 

 
(3) In the event that a timely and complete application for license renewal is not processed 
within timeframe established in paragraph (2)(A) of this subsection, and no good cause exists 
for the delay, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that 

particular application process. Requests for reimbursement shall be made in writing to the 
Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group. Good cause for exceeding the time period is 

considered to exist if the number of applications for licensure exceeds by 15% or more the 
number of applications processed the same calendar quarter of the preceding year or any 
other condition exists giving the department good cause for exceeding the time period. 

 

(4) If the request for reimbursement as authorized by paragraph (3) of this subsection is 
denied, the applicant may then appeal to the commissioner for a resolution of the dispute. The 
applicant shall give written notice to the commissioner requesting reimbursement of the fee 
paid because the application was not processed within the established time period. The 

department shall submit a written report of the facts related to the processing of the 
application and good cause for exceeding the established time periods. The commissioner 

shall make the final decision and provide written notification of the decision to the applicant 
and to the department. 

 
(e)Late renewal. If a license is not renewed within one year after the expiration date, the 

license may not be renewed. A new license may be obtained by submitting a new application 
in compliance with §265.23 of this title (relating to Application and Denial of a New License; 
Non-transferable). If the license is renewed after its expiration date, the renewed license shall 

expire on the date the license would have expired had it been renewed timely. 

 

(f) Non-renewal. The department may refuse to renew a license if the applicant has not 
complied with all final orders resulting from any violations of these sections. Eligibility for 
license renewal may be reestablished by meeting all conditions of the orders and complying 
with the requirements of this section. The department may not renew the license of a youth 

camp that has not corrected deficiencies identified in a final order before the application for 
renewal is submitted. Evidence of corrections, such as photography or documentation 

satisfactory to the department, shall be submitted to and approved by the Environmental and 
Sanitation Business Filing and Verification Unit prior to submitting the renewal application to 
the Business Filing and Verification Section of the Consumer Protection Division. 

 
(g) Application determination affecting license expiration. If a license holder makes timely and 
sufficient application for the renewal of a license, the existing license does not expire until the 

application has been finally determined by the department. If the application is denied, the 
existing license does not expire until the last day for seeking review of the agency order or a 
later date fixed by order of the reviewing court. 

 
(h) Reapplication for license upon denial or revocation. A license holder whose license has been 
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denied or revoked may not reapply for a new license for two years from the date of final 

denial or revocation. 

 
(i) Opportunity for a hearing. When the department proposes to deny an initial or renewal 

application, it shall give notice of the proposed action in writing and shall provide information 
on how to request an administrative hearing. The applicant shall make a written request for a 
hearing within 30 days from the date on the notice letter sent by the department. 

 
(j) Pre-licensing inspections. A youth camp applying for a license renewal may be subject to a 
pre-licensing inspection. Youth camps shall be in compliance with all provisions of the Act and 
the rules prior to operation. 

 
(k) Denials. 

 
(1) The department may deny a renewal application for licensing to those who fail to meet the 
standards established by the Act and this subchapter. In making this determination, the 

department shall consider any violations by the youth camp of the Act and this subchapter, 
including whether the youth camp employs an individual who was convicted of an act of 
sexual abuse, as defined by §21.02 of the Texas Penal Code, that occurred at the camp. Prior 

to denying a renewal license, the department shall give the applicant an opportunity for a 
hearing. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the Act, the Administrative 

Procedure Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001, and the formal hearing procedures of 
the department at 25 Texas Administrative Code §1.21 et seq. 

 
(2) A letter of denial of license renewal may be issued within 60 days of the receipt of 

application if the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(A) of this 
section. 

 

(3) A letter of denial of license renewal may be issued within 60 days following the first 
scheduled date of camp operations if the applicant does not meet the requirements of 

subsection (c)(3)(B) of this section. 

 

(l) Refunds. 

 

(1) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(A) of this section, the 
renewal application may be denied and the renewal license fee, less a handling fee of $50, 

may be refunded. If an applicant is denied because the facility does not meet the 
requirements of subsection (c)(3)(A) of this section, the applicant should determine if a 

license from another agency is required. 

 
(2) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(B) of this section, the 
renewal application may be denied and the renewal license fee may not be refunded. 

 

§265.25 Inspections 

 

(a)Inspections and corrections. An employee or agent of the department may enter any 
property for which a license is issued in accordance with the Act, property for which a license 
application to operate a youth camp is pending, or property on which a youth camp is 

operating without a license to investigate and inspect conditions relating to the health and 
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safety of the campers. An employee or agent of the department who enters a youth camp to 

investigate and inspect conditions shall: 

 
(1) notify the person in charge of the camp of the inspector's presence and shall present 
proper credentials; 

 
(2) notify the person in charge of the camp or the person's designee of any violations as they 
are discovered; and 

 
(3) allow the camp to correct the violations while the investigation and inspection is occurring. 

 
(b) Investigation or inspection may not be delayed. An employee or agent of the department 
may not extend or delay an investigation or inspection in order to allow the youth camp to 
correct a violation noted during the investigation or inspection. 

 
(c) Interference with an inspection. A department representative in pursuance of his/her 
official duties is not required to seek permission to conduct inspections or investigations. It is 
a violation of the Act for a person to interfere with, deny, or delay an inspection or 

investigation conducted by a department representative. 

 
§265.26 Civil Penalties and Injunctions 

 
(a)A person violating the Act or a rule or order adopted under the Act is subject to a civil 

penalty of not less than $50 or more than $1,000 for each act of violation. 

 
(b) If it appears that a person has violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate the Act or a 
rule or order adopted under the Act, the department may bring a civil action in a district court 

for injunctive relief, a civil penalty, or both. 

 
(c) The district court, upon finding that the person is violating the Act, or a rule or order 
adopted under the Act, shall grant injunctive relief, assess a civil penalty, or both, as 

warranted by the facts. 

 
(d) The department may petition a district court for a temporary restraining order to 
immediately halt a violation or other action creating an emergency condition if it appears that 

a person is: 

 

(1) violating or threatening to violate the Act or a rule or order adopted under the Act; or 

 

(2) taking any other action that creates an emergency condition that constitutes an imminent 
danger to the health, safety, or welfare of campers, staff or visitors at a youth camp. 

 

(e)An action under this section may be brought in the county in which the defendant resides 
or in which the violation or threat of violation occurs. 

 
(f) If an action for injunctive relief under this section is granted by the court, the court may 
grant any prohibitory or mandatory injunction warranted by the facts, including temporary 

restraining orders, temporary injunctions, and permanent injunctions. The court shall grant 
injunctive relief without a bond or other undertaking by the department. 
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(g) An appellate court shall give precedence to an action brought under this section over other 
cases of a different nature on the docket of the court. 

 

§265.27 Revocation, Administrative Penalties, and Hearings 

 
(a)License revocation. 

 
(1) If the department finds that a violation of the Act or of a rule has occurred or is occurring 

at a youth camp for which a license has been issued, the department shall give written notice 
to the licensee setting forth the nature of the violation and demanding that the violation 
cease. 

 
(2) The department may initiate proceedings to revoke the license if the licensee fails to 
comply with the notice of violation in the time and manner directed in the notice. 

 
(b) Assessment of an administrative penalty. The Commissioner may assess an administrative 

penalty if a person violates the Act, a rule of the department, or an order of the commissioner 
issued under the Act or rules. 

 
(c) Determination of the penalty amount. In determining the amount of the penalty, the 

commissioner shall consider: 

 
(1) previous compliance history; 

 
(2) the seriousness of the violation; 

 
(3) any hazard to public health and safety; 

 
(4) the person's demonstrated good faith; and 

 
(5) any other matters as justice may require. 

 
(d) Administrative penalty limits. The administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 a day for 
each violation. Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation. 

 
(e)Opportunity for a hearing. Prior to revoking a license or assessing an administrative 
penalty, the department shall give the person charged an opportunity for a hearing. The 

hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the Act, the Administrative Procedures Act, 
Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001, and the formal hearing procedures of the department 
at 25 Texas Administrative Code §1.21 et seq. 

 

(f) Violation severity levels. Violations shall be categorized into severity levels I, II, and III. 
Administrative penalties may be imposed for: 

 

(1) Critical violations. Severity level I violations have or could have a direct or immediate 
negative effect on the health, safety, and welfare of campers or the operation and 
management of a youth camp. These violations are assessed at $750 - $1,000 per violation 

per day. Examples of severity level I violations include, but are not limited to: 
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(A) operating a youth camp without a current license; 

 
(B) failing to report an incident of camper abuse or neglect of a camper as required; 

 
(C) providing drinking water from an unapproved source; 

 

(D) policies or procedures not being followed in a way that has a direct negative impact on 
camper health or safety; 

 
(E) unqualified or insufficient number of personnel staffing operations or activities; 

 
(F) criminal conviction and sex offender records not on file; 

 
(G) sexual abuse training and exam records not on file; and 

 
(H) interfering with, denying, or delaying an inspection or investigation conducted by a 
department representative. 

 
(2) Serious violations. Severity level II violations are those that could threaten the health, 

safety, and welfare of campers or the operation and management of a youth camp. These 
violations are assessed at $500 - $750 per violation per day. Examples of severity level II 

violations include, but are not limited to: 

 
(A) written personnel practices and policies regarding camp and staff are not available as 
required; 

 
(B) staff members not informed regarding personnel and camp practice policies; 

 
(C) proper sanitation of all food utensils not achieved; 

 
(D) policies or procedures not being followed in a way that could threaten the health, safety, 
and welfare of campers or the operation and management of a youth camp; 

 
(E) swimming areas not maintained in clean condition; or 

 
(F) disaster and/or fire evacuation procedures are not posted properly. 

 
(3) Significant violations. Severity level III violations are those of concern that if left 
uncorrected could lead to more serious circumstances. These violations are assessed at $250 - 

$500 per violation per day. Examples of severity level III violations include, but are not 
limited to: 

 
(A) toilets and bathing facilities not adequately lighted and ventilated; 

 
(B) docking and waterskiing permitted in the swimming area; 

 

(C) vehicles used to transport staff or campers not equipped with a first aid kit; 
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(D) policies or procedures not being followed in a way that if left uncorrected could lead to 
more serious circumstances; and 

 

(E) unauthorized nudity allowed. 

 

§265.28 Fees 

 
(a)The schedule of annual fees is as follows: 

 
(1) initial license day youth camp--$250; 

 
(2) initial license residential youth camp--$750; 

 

(3) renewal license day youth camps operating less than 10 days per year--$50; 

 

(4) renewal license day youth camps operating 10 or more days per year--$150; 

 
(5) renewal license residential youth camps operating less than 10 days per year--$100; and 

 
(6) renewal license residential youth camps operating 10 or more days per year--$450. 

 
(b) Miscellaneous fees are as follows: 

 
(1) duplicate license fee--$20; 

 
(2) camp name change during operation--$20; and 

 
(3) non-sufficient fund fee--$20. 

 
(c) Applicants may submit applications and renewal applications for a license under these 
sections electronically through texas.gov at www.texas.gov. The department is authorized to 

collect fees, in amounts determined by the Texas Online Authority, to recover costs associated 
with application and renewal application processing through texas.gov. 

 
(d) An applicant whose payment for the application and initial license fee is returned due to 

any reason including insufficient funds, account closed, or payment stopped shall be allowed 
to reinstate the application by remitting to the department a money order or check for 

guaranteed funds in the amount of the application and initial license fee plus the Non-
Sufficient Fund Fee within 30 days after the date of receipt of the department's notice. An 
application is incomplete until the fee has been received and cleared through the appropriate 

financial institution. 

 
(e)An applicant whose license has been approved and whose payment for the license fee is 
returned due to any reason including insufficient funds, account closed, or payment stopped 

shall remit to the department a money order or check for guaranteed funds in the amount of 
the license fee plus the Non-Sufficient Fund Fee within 30 days after the date of receipt of the 

department's notice. Failure to comply with this subsection renders the application and the 
license approval invalid. 

 

http://www.texas.gov/
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(f) A license holder whose payment for the renewal fee is returned due to any reason including 

insufficient funds, account closed, or payment stopped shall remit to the department a money 
order or check for guaranteed funds in the amount of the renewal fee plus the Non-Sufficient 

Fund Fee within 30 days after the date of receipt of the department's notice. Failure to comply 
shall result in non-renewal of the license. If a renewal license has already been issued, it shall 

be invalid. 

 
(g) Upon return unclaimed of the department's notice, as set out in subsections (c) - (e) of this 
section, the department shall mail the notice to the applicant or license holder by certified 

mail. If a money order or check for guaranteed funds is not received by the department's 
cashier within 30 days after the postmarked date on the certified mailing, the approval 

granted, or license issued shall be invalid. 

 
(h) The department may notify the applicant or the license holder's owner that the person has 
failed to comply with this section and that any approval granted or license issued is invalid. 

 
(i) Initial application or renewal fees shall be refunded only if the fee amounts paid are in 
excess of the correct fee amount or if there is a double payment. The department shall not 
refund fees if the application was abandoned due to the applicant's failure to respond within 

90 days to a written request from the department. 
 

(j) All fees shall be submitted in the form of personal checks, certified checks, money orders, 
or checks from state agencies, municipalities, counties, or other political subdivisions of the 

state made payable to the department. 

 
§265.29 Youth Camp Committee 

 
(a)Advisory committee. 

 
(1) Committee appointment. The executive commissioner or his designee shall appoint a 

committee to: 

 
(A) advise the executive commissioner in the development of standards and procedures; 

 
(B) make recommendations to the executive commissioner regarding the content of the rules 

adopted to implement the Act; and 

 
(C) perform any other functions requested by the executive commissioner in the 
implementation and administration of the Act. 

 
(2) Advisory committee membership. The advisory committee shall not exceed nine members. 

At least two members shall be from the general public, and seven members shall be 
experienced camping professionals who represent the camping communities of the state and 

should reflect the geographic diversity of the state in proportion to the number of camps 
licensed by the department in each geographic area of the state. 

 
(3) Filling a vacancy on the advisory committee. Any vacancy on the advisory committee will 

be filled by the executive commissioner or his designee in the same manner as other 
appointments to the advisory committee. 
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(4) Annual meeting required. The advisory committee will meet annually and at the call of the 
executive commissioner or his designee. 

 
(b) Procedures. 

 
(1) Staggered terms of service. Committee members shall serve for staggered six-year terms, 
with the terms of three members expiring on August 31 of each odd-numbered year. 

 
(2) Adoption of committee rules of conduct and election of officers. The committee may adopt 

rules for the conduct of its own activities and may elect from among its members a 
chairperson, a vice-chairperson, and a secretary. 

 

(3) Committee quorum. A simple majority of the members of the committee who are 
statutorily required to be appointed shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transacting 

official business. 

 

(4) Committee meetings announced. The committee is not a "governmental body" as defined 
in the Open Meetings Act. However, in order to promote public participation, each meeting of 

the committee shall be announced and conducted in accordance with the Texas Government 
Code, Open Meetings Act, Chapter 551. 

 
(5) Compensation or reimbursement of expenses. A committee member may not receive 

compensation or reimbursement of expenses for serving on a youth camp committee. 

 
(6) Presiding officer. The committee shall annually select from among its members a chair who 
will serve as the presiding officer of the committee. The presiding officer of the committee 

shall preside over the committee. 
 

(7) Reports. The presiding officer shall file an annual written report with the department. 

 

(A) The report may list the meeting dates of the committee and any subcommittees, the 
attendance records of its members, a brief description of actions taken by the committee, a 

description of how the committee has accomplished any specific tasks officially given to the 
committee, the status of any rules that were recommended by the committee, and anticipated 

activities of the committee for the next year. 

 
(B) The report shall cover the meetings and activities in the immediate preceding 12 months 
and shall be filed with the department. The report shall be signed by the presiding officer. 

 
(8) Committee abolished. By October 1, 2021, the executive commissioner will initiate and 

complete a review of the committee to determine whether the committee should be 
continued, consolidated with another committee, or abolished. If the committee is not 

continued or consolidated, the committee shall be abolished on that date. 

 
§265.30 Waiver; Appeal 

 
(a)The department may grant a waiver from the requirements of this chapter to a program 

that meets the conditions described in Health and Safety Code, §141.0025(a). The program 
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seeking the waiver shall provide proof to the department that the program meets the 

conditions described in Health and Safety Code, 
§141.0025(a) before the department may grant a waiver. To ensure that the program 

continues to be eligible for a waiver, the department may require the program to resubmit 
proof of meeting the conditions described in Health and Safety Code, §141.0025(a) no more 

frequently than one time per calendar year or as part of an investigation described in 
subsection (c) of this section. 

 
(b) A waiver granted by the department under subsection (a) of this section is valid until the 
waiver is revoked for cause by the department. Examples of cause for revocation include but 

are not limited to: 

 
(1) the failure to ensure the health, safety, or welfare of persons at the program; or 

 
(2) the failure to report abuse or neglect occurring at the program as required by Family Code, 

Chapter 261. 

 
(c) The department may conduct an investigation in response to an allegation that there is 
cause to revoke a program’s waiver or that a program no longer meets the conditions 

described in Health and Safety Code, 
§141.0025(a). 

 
(d) A person who operates a program for which an application for a waiver under this section 

has been denied or for which a waiver under this section has been revoked may appeal the 
action in the manner provided for appeal of contested cases under Government Code, Chapter 

2001. When the department proposes to deny or revoke a waiver granted under this section, 
it shall give notice of the proposed action in writing and shall provide information on how to 
request an administrative hearing. The program shall make a written request for a hearing 

within 30 days from the date on the notice letter sent by the department. 


