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STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY 
 

Mail Code: MC1982  PO Box 149347  Austin, Texas 78714-9347 

Phone: (512) 834-6627  Fax: (512) 834-6677 
E-mail: speech@dshs.state.tx.us 

 www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech 
 

ASSISTANT IN AUDIOLOGY APPLICATION FORM 
 

Step 1:  All new applicants will be required to submit fingerprints to the Texas Department of Public Safety 
(DPS). Go to http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/ and select the DPS/FBI Fingerprinting tab. Please follow the 
instructions on the form.  
In state applicants: Once you have completed the fingerprint process; please attach a COPY of your FAST fingerprint 
form/receipt. 
Out of state applicants will not have a receipt. You do not submit proof of fingerprints if you choose the out of state process. 
 

Step 2:  Please print and complete the application form completely or you can apply online at 
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/ 
 

Step 3:  Please submit the completed application and fee of $163.00 with the required documentation listed 
below. 
 

Step 4:  Please complete the Texas Jurisprudence Exam and attach a copy of the certificate; link is 
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/. This is a no fail exam over the board’s rules and law. Please complete the audiology 

exam. 
 

Step 5: Submit an official diploma or official transcript indicating graduation from high school (a photocopy 
which has been notarized as a true and exact copy can be submitted) or certificate of high school equivalency 
issued by the appropriate education agency or an official transcript(s) from an accredited college or university 
indicating a college degree was awarded. 
 

Step 6: Submit an original or certified copy of birth certificate indicating that the applicant is 18 years or older. 
 

Step 7:  Please attach the Supervisory Responsibility Statement (SRS) for An Assistant in Audiology (AU) 
Form. The form is located www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech  under applications/forms. 
 

Step 8:  Please submit an original or certified copy of the Council for Accreditation of Occupational Hearing 
Conservation (CAOHC) indicating that the applicant has completed the required CAOHC training and passed 
the required examination.  
 
 

The processing time frame for licensure starts once the application has been received in the speech/audiology office. 
Please allow 2 to 4 weeks for processing. 
 

Applicant’s Full Legal Name: (First, Middle, Last): 

 

Name(s) on Transcript(s) if different:  

Date of Birth: Social Security Number: 

Mailing Address: 

City/State/Zip: 

Home Phone Number: 

E-mail Address: 

 
  

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech
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1. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION – if you are employed at the time of application; if not please put NA. 

Name of employer, agency or practice: 

 

Mailing Address: 

City/State/Zip: 

Phone Number: 

Fax Number:: 

E-mail Address: 

 
 

2. Do you possess any other professional license(s) or certificate(s) issued by any state?   □ Yes  □ No  If yes, give license or 
certificate number(s), title(s), and states issuing license(s) or certificates(s): 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

3. Have you been denied a professional license and/or certificate in Texas and/or other state or country, or have you ever had 
any license and/or certificate revoked, canceled, received probated suspension or suspended?   □ Yes  □ No  If answer is yes, 
briefly state the type of license or certificate, the name and address of the agency that issued the license or certificate and the reason: 
(please attach documents) 

____________________________________________________________________________________________  
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

4. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered any professional license or certificate?   □ Yes  □ No  If answer is yes, briefly state the 
type of license or certificate, the name and address of the agency that issued the license certificate and the reasons: 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

5. Have you completed the fingerprint process for state licensure?   □ Yes  □ No  If yes please attach a copy of the Fast Pass 
receipt. You do not submit proof of fingerprints if you choose the out of state process. 

 

6. Have you ever been convicted, plead guilty to, plead nolo contendere or received deferred adjudication to any misdemeanor 
or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?   □ Yes  □ No  (Please note that Driving While Intoxicated is not a minor traffic violation.) 

 

 7. ACADEMIC TRAINING (List all high schools/colleges/universities attended and attach additional pages if necessary) 
 

Name & Location of School 

Inclusive Dates 
Diploma/Degree 

Granted  

Date 
Diploma/Degree 

Granted 
(mm/dd/yy) 

From  
(mm/yy) 

To 
(mm/yy) 
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With my signature on this application for licensure with the State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, I certify that: 
 

 I have read the Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology licensing Law and Rules of the Board. I agree to abide by the 
State Law and all current and subsequent Law and Rules of the Board. 

 All information provided on this application is truthful. I understand that giving false information of any kind may result in 
denial of licensure. 

 I understand that the fee submitted with this application is non-refundable. 

 I agree to hold the State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, its members, officers, agents, 
and examiners free from any damage or claim for damage or complaint by the reason of any action they or any one of them 
take in connection with this application, the attendant examination, and/or failure of the Board to issue me a license.  

 I hereby grant permission to the Board to seek any information or references it deems fit in securing my credentials pertinent 
to this application. 

 I understand that the name, license number, and mailing address of all holders of a Texas-issued professional license are 
subject to the Texas Public Information Act. This information will be provided in response to information requests for licensee 
lists from organizations and individuals. This information will also be provided on the Board’s website. 

 I understand that the disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under the Rules of the Board, 22 
TAC, §741.112 and Family Code, §231.302. Social security numbers will be used for identification purposes. 

 I understand that I must submit fingerprints to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). 

 I agree that if issued a license, upon revocation, suspension, or cancellation of that license, I shall return the said 
license to the Board. 

 

______________________________________________________ __________________________ 

Applicant’s Signature Date 

The processing time frame for licensure starts once the application has been received in the 
speech/audiology office. Please allow 2 to 4 weeks for processing.  
 
 

To expedite the application process, submit application & fee with ALL supporting documents use the U.S. 
Post Office Express Mail and mail to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program  
Mail Code: MC 2003 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
 

If you need to submit additional documentation after the application and fee have been submitted, please mail 
to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program 
Mail Code: MC1982 
PO Box 149347 

Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
 
You can apply online at www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/  

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/

