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Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program 
Texas Department of State Health Services 

Division for Regulatory Services 
Offender Education Programs 

PO Box 149347, MC 1982 
Austin, TX 78714-9347 
1-800-832-9623, x2900 

www.dshs.state.tx.us/offendered 
tytap@dshs.state.tx.us    

 
The Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program (TYTAP) is responsible for ensuring that 
Texas youth are able to complete a tobacco awareness course as mandated by the 75th Texas 
Legislature through the Texas Health & Safety Code, Sec.161.253. TYTAP uses the Texas 
Adolescent Tobacco Use and Cessation curriculum. The ongoing growth of this program and 
long-term evaluation is the result of collaboration between the Texas Department of State 
Health Services (DSHS) and Texas A&M School of Rural Public Health. 
 
The TYTAP instructor Initial Certification Workshop is offered twice yearly in the Austin 
area for those wanting to become certified to offer the Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness 
course. Current cost of the certification workshop is $250 per person. This document 
includes an application form as well as a description of the requirements for becoming a 
TYTAP instructor. Payment for certification workshops is made after being accepted into a 
workshop – do not send money with your application. All applicants are required to submit a 
Texas Department of Public Safety criminal background check, which is obtained by the 
applicant at his or her own expense. 
 
Workshop selection criteria: 

• Non-tobacco user or tobacco-free for a minimum of two years prior to application, 

• Professional experience, training, education and/or licensure in the fields of 
education, counseling, health education, psychology, social work, criminal or juvenile 
justice, 

• Training and experience in adolescent education or counseling, 

• Demonstrated verbal communication skills by having done group presentations, 
lectures, etc., 

• If credentials, such as LSW, LPC, or LCDC are part of the applicant’s resume, proof 
of current licensure is required to obtain and maintain certification. 

 
For the TYTAP instructor certification workshops, application packets MUST include: 

• Signed application form, 

• Current resume or vitae, 

• Signed and notarized affidavit, 

• Copies of certificates, licenses including proof of current status, college transcripts 
and verification of other items listed on the application, 

• ORIGINAL documents confirming the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) 
criminal background check obtained by the applicant at his/her own expense. The 
background check can be obtained at: 
https://records.txdps.state.tx.us/dps_web/Portal/index.aspx and requires a credit card 
for payment.  
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INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED. If a question is not 
applicable to you indicate by entering N/A. Do not leave blanks on the application. All 
correspondence will be sent to the address indicated as “Home mailing address” at the top of 
the application. Certification as an instructor for another DSHS Offender Education 

program does not guarantee acceptance into this certification program. 
 
If approved for the instructor certification workshop, you will be notified of the exact time 
and location of the workshop and how to submit the registration fee. Currently the cost is 
$250 per person. If payment is not received by the indicated deadline, you will not be 
allowed to take the training workshop. No payments will be accepted at the training sites. All 

payments must be received at least five (5) business days prior to the first day of the 

workshop, or by the deadline indicated in the acceptance packet you will receive. 
Participants are responsible for all fees, travel costs, meals and other expenses. Those who 
successfully complete the Initial Certification Workshop and are approved by DSHS will 
receive a certification to conduct TYTAP classes and will have the contact information they 
provide in the application listed on the DSHS, Worth It?, and Texas Tobacco Law websites.  
 
Workshops will begin at 9am on the first day, 8am on the second and third days, and will 
conclude by 5pm on the last day. Participants must be on time and attend all sessions in 

their entirety. Failure to do so will result in denial of certification. Additionally, a passing 
grade must be achieved on the exam at the end of the certification workshop in order for 
certification to be granted.  
 
After you receive your initial certification you will be REQUIRED  to attend a one-day 
Continuing Education Inservice conducted by DSHS and the Texas A&M School of Rural 
Public Health during each two-year certification period. These inservices will be at an 
additional cost (currently $125 per person) to the instructor. Failure to attend an inservice 
during each two-year certification period will result in failure to renew your certification. It 

is the responsibility of the instructor to assure compliance with the inservice 

requirement.  
 
Questions regarding your application or certification should be directed to Texas Department 
of State Health Services at: 
 
Offender Education Group 
Division for Regulatory Services 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
Phone: 1-800-832-9623, x2900 
Email: tytap@dshs.state.tx.us 
 

 

 

REMINDER 

Do NOT include payment with the application, or the 

processing of your application will be delayed.  
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Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program 
Instructor Certification Workshop Training Application – Fiscal Year 2014 

 

---PLEASE DO NOT SEND MONEY WITH THIS APPLICATION--- 
Applicant Information  

All information is required  ■   Do not leave questions blank, use N/A if not applicable 
Please Print Clearly or Type 

Mr.     Ms.        (please circle)     Name: 
Home Mailing Address: 

City: ZIP: County: 

Home Phone: (     ) Work Phone: (     ) 

Fax:  (     ) Social Security Number: 

Cell Phone: (       ) Drivers License Number:                   

Email address: Date of Birth: 
Name of Agency under which TYTAP will be taught    (if applicable):                                                      

Current Employment Information 

Current Employer (Agency/Organization): 

Title: 

Position Description: 

 

 

 
Licenses (Check all that apply) 

Counselor Intern  (LCDC or LPC)-circle           Yes No      Licensed Psychiatrist/Physician                     Yes No   

Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor     Yes No      Probation or Parole Officer                             Yes No 

Licensed Social Worker                        Yes No      Adult or Child Protective Services Worker     Yes No 

Licensed Professional Counselor          Yes No      Licensed Vocational Nurse                            Yes No      

Licensed Psychologist            Yes No      Registered Nurse                                           Yes No       

Certified Teacher                                              Yes No 
Certifications (Check all that apply) 

DSHS – DWI Education (DWIE) Instructor                                          Yes   No 

DSHS -  Drug Offender Education Program (DOEP) Instructor    Yes   No 

DSHS  - DWI Intervention (DWII)  Instructor                                                             Yes   No 

DSHS – Alcohol Education Program for Minors (AEPM) Instructor                          Yes   No 

Other Certifications/Licenses—please list: 

 
Case Management/Clinical Counseling/Teaching Experience  

Specify Type of Clinical Counseling or 
Case Management Experience 

Number of Years Specify Type of Teaching 
Experience 

Number of Years 

    

    

    
Educational Background 

Name of College/University Type Degree 
Awarded 

Major Minor Dates Attended 

     

     

Describe, in detail, your case management/clinical counseling/educational experience relating to tobacco, substance abuse or 
mental health:  (Include agency names & dates) 
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List all physical locations where courses will be held – must be an appropriate classroom facility and 
shall not be at a personal residence. Courses may only be conducted at locations approved in advance 
by DSHS. (if additional space is needed, please attach additional pages)  
 
This information for locations will be published on the websites for offenders to contact you for a class.  

 
Physical Address                            City                    Zip               County          Phone        

    (       ) 

    (       )       

    (       ) 

    (       ) 

 

Indicate at which address your course records will be kept: _______________________________ 

 
All correspondence will be sent to the address indicated as “home mailing address” at the top of the application. 

 

 

Please check the preferred 3-day certification workshop date: 

   □ Austin  November 6-8, 2013 

   □ Austin  March 26-28, 2014               

   □ Austin  June 25-27, 2014 

    
 

I certify that all information contained in this application and attachments is true and correct. 
 
 
Signature of Applicant: _____________________________________________ Date: _____________________                                                                           

 

 

Return the completed application, current resume, proof of credentials (diplomas/transcripts, licenses,  
certifications, etc), DPS background check, and signed and notarized affidavit to: 

 

Texas Department of State Health Services  
PLCU - Offender Education  

PO Box 149347, Mail Code 1982 
Austin, TX  78714-9347 

 
 

     Incomplete applications or applications without appropriate attachments will not be processed. 
 

---- DO NOT SEND MONEY WITH THIS APPLICATION ----  

            

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 For office use only                     Reviewed by:                                                 Date: 
     Approved: Yes  No   If not, why? 
            Rev 8-5-2013 
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AFFIDAVIT    
 
 
 
 
I, ________________________________, acknowledge the following: 
 

• I do not use tobacco and have not used tobacco for a minimum of two years prior to 
the date of this application, 

• I am willing to participate in drug screening if requested, 

• I will participate in the program evaluation sampling process and return student 
workbooks and other course materials to Texas A&M if requested, 

• I agree to abide by the Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program (TYTAP) protocols 
as outlined by the Texas Department of State Health Services and as written in the 
TYTAP instructor manual, 

• I understand that violating the TYTAP protocols may result in the suspension or 
revocation of my certification to conduct courses, 

• I understand certification as a TYTAP instructor requires a Texas Department of 
Public Safety criminal background check and I am willing to provide the results with 
my instructor application, 

• I read and understand the conditions listed in the instructor application and agree to 
abide by them should I be accepted. 

 
KNOWINGLY MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT WILL RESULT IN THE DENIAL 

OR REVOCATION OF YOUR CERTIFICATION. 

 
 
Applicant Name (please print):_____________________________________________ 
 
 
 
Signature ______________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me, this_______ day of_________, 20____ 

 
 
 
 
 

__________________________________ 
Notary Public in and for the State of Texas. 

 
My commission expires:_______________ 

 


