Sickle Cell Advisory Committee

Sign up for e-mail updates.Purpose

The purpose of the Sickle Cell Advisory Committee is to raise public awareness of sickle cell disease and sickle cell trait. The 25 TAC §37.420 establishes the tasks, reporting requirements, membership requirements, membership qualifications and meeting schedules.


Sickle Cell Advisory Committee Meetings

The committee meets at least three times per year. The public may attend these meetings at the designated meeting location. Each agenda provides meeting location details. View the meeting schedule, agendas and minutes. 

For questions, contact Beth Rider by email at or by telephone at 512-776-3386.

Sign-up to receive email notices about future Sickle Cell Advisory Committee meetings and other newborn screening related news and activities.


Senate Bill (S.B.) 200 and S.B. 277, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, directed the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) to establish and maintain advisory committees to address major health and human services issues and to adopt rules to govern the advisory committee’s purpose, tasks, reporting requirements, and date of abolition. The Sickle Cell Advisory Committee is comprised of seven members appointed by the HHSC Executive Commissioner, and the committee is required to meet three times per year.  

More about the Sickle Cell Advisory Committee

Resources for Families and Healthcare Providers


For more information, email or call 512-776-3386.

Last updated January 31, 2018