Help Me Grow Texas

Dad with baby web

Help Me Grow Texas: Connecting Families to Community Services  

The Help Me Grow System Model is designed to help states and communities leverage existing resources to ensure communities identify vulnerable children, link families to community-based services, and empower families to support their child’s optimal development. Texas has been implementing the model since 2019. Help Me Grow Texas works with six local communities to implement the Help Me Grow System Model so families get the support they need.

The Maternal and Child Health Unit at The Texas Department of State Health Services leads Help Me Grow Texas. Our mission is to enable and support building statewide early childhood systems so communities can support the optimal health, development, and well-being of Texas children. Our vision is for all Texas children to have equitable access to care that is child-focused, family-driven, community-based, culturally grounded, and sustainable.

To learn more about the program, download the Help Me Grow handout (PDF). 

The benefits of a community participating in Help Me Grow Texas are:

  • Families have information and resources to help their children to succeed
  • Providers can identify vulnerable children and support them
  • Stakeholders can build capacity to meet the needs of children and families
  • Communities can see improved outcomes  

MCH is pleased to announce the 2020 Help Me Grow Texas Cohort communities! The cohort will run from August 2020 to August 2021.

Cohort communities were selected based on community readiness, need, capacity and infrastructure. We also considered the history of the organization's performance and other factors. Each community designated a local organization to lead their communities’ efforts.

The 2020 Cohort participants are:

HMG Texas 2020 Cohort web  

  • Easterseals Rio Grande Valley
    Serving: Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr, and Willacy County  
  • My Health My Resources of Tarrant County
    Serving: Collin, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Fannin, Grayson, Hood, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, and Wise County   
  • North Texas Area United Way
    Serving: Archer, Clay, and Wichita County    
  • Paso del Norte Children’s Development Center
    Serving: El Paso County   
  • United Way for Greater Austin
    Serving: Travis and Williamson County    
  • United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County
    Serving: Bexar County

If you have questions, please contact us at More information about Help Me Grow can be found at 

HelpMeGrow Web

Last updated October 22, 2021