DSHS Announces 2022 Emergency Medical Services Award Winners

News Release
News Release
December 2, 2022

The Texas Department of State Health Services EMS-Trauma Systems Program presented its annual emergency medical services awards on Nov. 22, 2022 at the Texas EMS Conference in Austin. Each of the award categories honors a person or organization that exemplifies the highest standards of the Texas EMS/Trauma System.

Winners recognized at the awards ceremony during the conference were:

  • EMS Public Information/Injury Prevention
    Chief Lee Richardson – Sachse
  • EMS Educator
    Roy Hunter, LP – Friendswood
  • EMS Telecommunicator
    Alexis Perez – Austin
  • EMS Administrator
    Xavier De La Rosa, LP – Spring
  • EMS Air Medical
    Travis County STAR Flight – Austin
  • EMS Medical Director
    Casey Patrick, MD – Spring
  • EMS Citizen
    Joseph Wenske – Waelder
  • EMS Provider
    Titus Regional Medical Center EMS – Mount Pleasant
  • EMS Person of the Year
    Gentry O’Connor, EMT - Kingwood
  • GETAC* Journey of Excellence
    J. Neal Rutledge, MD – Austin
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    John Hellerstedt, MD – Austin  

*GETAC is the Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council.


(News Media Contact: pressofficer@dshs.texas.gov)