GETAC Council Biographies

Gov. Rick Perry has appointed the following people to the Governor's EMS and Trauma Advisory Council. The council helps federal, state and local agencies develop and implement an integrated, statewide program for emergency medical services.


Council Members


Robert D. Greenberg, MD, FACEP
GETAC Council Chair
Term Expires: 01/01/2020

Robert D. Greenberg, MD, FACEP, is assistant professor and vice-chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine and director of the Division of Prehospital Medicine at Scott & White Healthcare and Texas A & M Health Sciences Center College of Medicine in Temple, Texas, where he has practiced since 1994. Dr. Greenberg received his BS in medical technology from Northeast Louisiana University in Monroe, Louisiana, in 1983. He received his MD from Louisiana State University Medical Center-Shreveport in 1988 and completed specialty training in emergency medicine through the University of Cincinnati Hospital in 1992. He is a past president of the Texas College of Emergency Physicians and represents them at the Texas Medical Association. 


Alan H. Tyroch, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Trauma Surgeon or Nurse
Term Expires: 01/01/2024

Dr. Alan Tyroch is professor and chair of surgery at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center of El Paso. He is chief of surgery and trauma medical director at University Medical Center of El Paso. As a member of the American College of Surgeons, he serves as the state chair for the ACS South Texas Committee on Trauma and is a governor-at-large. He has membership in the Texas Surgical Society, Texas Medical Association, El Paso County Medical Society, American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, Society of Critical Care Medicine, Southwestern Surgical Congress, Western Surgical Association, American Trauma Society and the Pan American Trauma Society. He has been an active member in the BorderRAC (TSA-I) since 1997. Tyroch, a fifth-generation native Texan, earned a bachelor’s degree in microbiology from Texas A&M University and a doctorate of medicine from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. He completed a surgery internship at Baylor College of Medicine (Houston), a general surgery residency at the Phoenix Integrated Surgery Residency Program (Arizona) and a trauma/surgical critical care fellowship at the University of California, San Francisco - Fresno Campus.


Ryan Matthews, LP
Private EMS Provider
Term Expires: 01/01/2022

Ryan Matthews, president and CEO of Trans Star Ambulance in Wichita Falls, is a licensed paramedic and has been active in the EMS community since 1993. Matthews received degrees in biology and chemistry from Texas Tech University and is also a private pilot. Matthews currently serves as a board member of the Texas Ambulance Association and as an executive board member of the North Texas Regional Advisory Council on Trauma (NTRAC). He has served as both the chair and treasurer of NTRAC. Matthews is also an active member and past president of the North Texas Regional EMS Provider’s Association and is a longtime member and current treasurer of Holliday Volunteer Fire and Rescue, where he fills dual roles as a volunteer firefighter and paramedic first responder. Matthews serves as the private EMS representative on GETAC.


James M. (Mike) DeLoach
County EMS Provider
Term Expires: 01/01/2020

James M. (Mike) DeLoach is owner of West Texas EMS Resources and Lamb County judge. He is chair of South Plains EMS, a board member of the South Plains Association of Governments, and an executive board member of the Trauma Services Area B Regional Advisory Council (TSA-B RAC). He is also a volunteer paramedic for Littlefield EMS and a member of the Littlefield Rotary Club. DeLoach received a bachelor's degree from Wayland Baptist University and completed emergency medical technician training in 1987 at the Texas Tech University Health Science Center. DeLoach was a member of the GETAC Education Committee prior to being appointed to the Council.

no image

Robert Martin Vezzetti, M.D.
Term Expires: 01/01/2022

Robert Vezzetti, MD, FAAP, FACEP, is a native of Brownsville, Texas, and is curently an attending physician and associate professor of pediatric emergency medicine at Dell Children's Medical Center of Central Texas in Austin. He completed his residency in pediatrics at Children's Hospital of Austin and his fellowship in pediatric emergency medicine at INOVA Fairfax Hospital for Children in Falls Church, Virginia. He remained on the faculty of the department of emergency medicine at Fairfax until 2007, when he and his family returned to Texas. Vezzetti is a member of the Acamerican Academy of Pediatrics and the American College of Emergency Physicians, and he his a member of both organizations’ sections of pediatric emergency medicine. Vezzetti is board certified in both pediatrics and pediatric emergency medicine.


Karen Pickard, RN, LP
EMS Volunteer
Term Expires: 01/01/2024

Karen Pickard is appointed to represent EMS volunteers. Thirty years ago, when she moved from Dallas to neighboring Ellis County, a rural county at the time, she learned what being an EMS volunteer is all about. Her passion quickly developed for these people and making sure they have the equipment and training they need. She has worked with volunteer agencies in many areas of the state, and currently represents The State Firemen and Fire Marshals Association of Texas, which works with and sponsors EMS and fire volunteers across the state. The organization has more than 20,000 individual members. Pickard has a bachelor’s degree in nursing from UT Arlington and has been a paramedic in 1980. Her background is ED nursing and field experience is as a paramedic.

 GETAC-JeffBarnhartJeffery Barnhart
Rural Trauma Facility Representative

Term Expires: 1/1/2022

Jeffery Barnhart of Canyon is the CEO of Deaf Smith County Hospital District in Hereford, Texas. He is Board Certified in Healthcare by American College of Healthcare Executives and volunteers as a board member of the United Way, Texas Hospital Association HealthSHARE Board, and the Texas Organization of Rural and Community Hospitals Foundation. He is also a member of the Hereford Lions Club. Barnhart received a Bachelor of Arts in healthcare management from Ottawa University, and a Master of Science in Clinical Practice Management from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Lubbock. He currently serves as an Adjunct Professor in the Master of Healthcare Administration Program at his Alma Mater. 

 no image

Sheila Faske
General Public Representative
Term Expires: 1/1/2022

Sheila Faske of Rose City is the owner of American Office Liquidators in Beaumont. She is a member of the Texas Auctioneers Association and the Orange, Beaumont and Silsbee Chambers of Commerce. Faske received an Associate of Science in business and computer information systems from Lamar Institute of Technology in Beaumont.

 no image

Robert Isbell Jr.
Fire Department Providing EMS Representative
Expires 1/1/2022

Robert Isbell Jr. of Midland is Chief of the City of Midland Fire Department. He is a member of the International Association of Fire Chiefs and Midland County Emergency Communications District Board and serves as president of the Permian Basin Firemen’s Fund. Additionally, he is former president of the Texas Fire Chief’s Association. Isbell received a Bachelor of Science in public administration from Grand Canyon University and a Master of Science in executive leadership from Grand Canyon University.

Last updated September 26, 2018