Syphilis, HIV, and Hepatitis B Testing and Pregnancy
Texas law requires physicians or others permitted by law to attend a woman during pregnancy or at delivery to test her for syphilis, HIV, and hepatitis B at her first prenatal visit. She must be re-tested for syphilis and HIV during the third trimester, but not earlier than 28 weeks’ gestation. She must also be re-tested for syphilis and hepatitis B at delivery. If there is no record of HIV testing during third trimester, an expedited delivery HIV test must also be performed. Expedited HIV testing of infants at delivery is also required if a mother’s results are undetermined. To learn more, please read Syphilis, HIV, and Hepatitis B Testing and Pregnancy: State Requirements for Texas Clinicians.
Testing During Pregnancy – Statutory reference from Texas Health and Safety Code
Informed Consent – Statutory reference from Texas Health and Safety Code
General Consent – Statutory reference from Texas Health and Safety Code
Counseling Required For Positive Test Results – Statutory reference from Texas Health and Safety Code
DSHS Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program
Congenital Syphilis in Texas – DSHS fact sheet (English)
Partner Notification Information for Providers – DSHS provider brochure (English)
Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) – CLIA information from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
New drug regimens cut HIV spread from mother to infant
10 Questions About HIV, Syphilis, and Pregnancy (Patient information in English)
10 preguntas sobre el VIH, la sífilis y el embarazo (Patient information in Spanish)
2-1-1 Texas – Find an HIV/STD service provider in Texas.
HIVTest.org – HIV and STD testing resources.
The Perinatal Hotline (888-448-8765) is a free 24 hour clinical consultation and advice on treating HIV-infected pregnant women and their infants. The hotline also provides guidance on test results.