2021 Emergency Medical Services Awards Announced

News Release
December 20, 2021

News Release
Dec. 20, 2021

The Texas Department of State Health Services presented its annual emergency medical services (EMS) and trauma awards recently. Each of the award categories honors a person or organization that exemplifies the best the Texas EMS/Trauma System has to offer.

The following winners were recognized at an awards luncheon during the 2021 Texas EMS Conference at the Austin Convention Center in Austin:

  • EMS Public Information/Injury Prevention
    Claire Zagorski, LP – Round Rock
  • EMS Educator
    Wendy Greer, LP; and Ryan Kelley, LP – Corpus Christi
  • EMS Telecommunicator
    Travis Pilley – Vidor
  • EMS Administrator
    Terry Hazlett, EMTP – Hereford
  • EMS Air Medical
    Memorial Hermann Life Flight – Houston
  • EMS Medical Director
    Justin Northeim, MD – Sachse
  • EMS Citizen
    Robert Golston – Round Rock
  • EMS Provider
    Montgomery County Hospital District – Conroe
  • EMS Person of the Year
    Andrew Castiglione, EMT – Seabrook
  • GETAC’s1 Journey of Excellence
    Robert Greenberg, MD – Temple
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Jane Greenwald, RN – San Antonio
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Kelly Harrell, CMP – Austin

1 GETAC is the Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council.



(News Media Contact: pressofficer@dshs.texas.gov)