Newborn Screening - Parent Resources

About Newborn Screening

What is newborn screening?

It is a simple blood test to look for some diseases. These diseases can cause a baby to get really sick or die.  Watch a video about newborn screening.

Why should my baby be tested?

If we find and treat these diseases early, we can keep babies from getting sick or dying.

When is my baby tested?

In Texas, babies have a newborn screening test when they are 1 to 2 days old. This test is done again at 7 to 14 days old. The test is done in accordance with Texas law and Rules.  (Health and Safety Code, Chapter 33)

How is newborn screening done?

A little blood from your baby’s foot is put on a blood spot card. The cards are sent to be tested at the Department of State Health Services (DSHS).

How do I get results?

You can get the test results from your baby’s doctor. The results are sent to the doctor from DSHS in one to two weeks.  If a result is out of the expected range, DSHS Newborn Screening Clinical Care Coordination will follow up with the baby’s healthcare provider to ensure that the appropriate next steps are taken.

Is more testing available?

DSHS screens for many but not all diseases your baby may have. More tests can be done. Ask your baby’s doctor and see or

Where can I find more information about newborn screening?

What happens to the blood spot card after testing?

Click here for information on the use and storage of dried blood spots after newborn screening.

Additional Information
Contact Us
(888) 963-7111, ext. 7333 toll free


Note: External links to other sites are intended to be informational and do not have the endorsement of the Texas Department of State Health Services. These sites may not be accessible to people with disabilities.

Last updated May 24, 2019