Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Online Licensing - Abusable Volatile Chemicals Program


  1. When can the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System be used for applying for AVC Permits?
  2. Who is eligible to renew online?
  3. If I want to apply for a renewal of my AVC Permit, what information will I need?
  4. When I apply for an AVC Permit through the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System, when will this permit expire?
  5. Is there any additional fee charge that applies to using the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System?
  6. What if I choose not to use the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System to apply for a new or renewal AVC Permit?
  7. How does the online application process work?
  8. Can I make changes to my business name or business address as part of the online renewal?  
  9. What are the online available payment options?
  10. What information do I need to make a payment online?
  11. Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?
  12. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license/registration?  
  13. Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?
  14. If I am unable to log in to the permit renewal screen, whom do I contact?
  15. What browser versions does the application support?

1. When can the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System be used for applying for AVC Permits?

The Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System must be used for all AVC permit applications.


2. Who is eligible to renew online?

Any retailer holding an AVC Permit and whose permit is active and within 45 days of expiration is eligible to renew online. The Department sends out renewal notices to each permittee approximately 45 days prior to the expiration date of the permit.


3. If I want to apply for a renewal of my AVC Permit, what information will I need?

You will need your Permit Number (located at the upper left corner of your AVC Permit), your Certificate number (located at the lower left corner of your AVC Permit), and your Federal or Texas Tax ID number. 


4. When I apply to renew an AVC Permit through the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System, when will this permit expire?

All AVC Permits issued by the agency are two-year permits, with one exception: New facilities that are added under a parent company that has other AVC-permitted facilities will be given the same expiration date as the parent company’s other facilities. In other words, all AVC-permitted facilities owned by that parent company will have a common expiration date, so the new facility may be issued a permit that expires in less than two years.


5. Is there any additional fee charge that applies to using the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System?

Yes, the Texas Department of State Health Services has been authorized by the Texas Legislature and the Texas Online Authority to charge an additional fee to recover costs associated with development and maintenance of the Texas Online services. There is an additional fee of $2.00 per permit that will be added to the two-year AVC Permit fee of $55.00. Therefore, the total permit fee will be $57.00. This fee applies to all AVC permit holders, including parent companies.


6. What if I choose not to use the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System to apply for a renewal AVC Permit?

After September 1st, 2022, all applications for AVC permits will only be accepted through the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System .  Any paper applications received by mail after this date will be returned to sender.


7. How does the online application process work?

The online application process is a simple process. Please visit the Help & Support page if you have any issues with using he system.


8. Can I make changes to my business name or business address as part of the online renewal?

No, if you change the business name, change owners for the business, or change the address of the permitted business, you will need to apply for a new AVC Permit. You will also be required to pay a two-year permit fee of $57.00.


9. What are the online available payment options?

Payments can be made using major credit cards (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX), debit cards, or ACH electronic check payment methods. Please note that both credit card and debit card information is entered in the same information fields on the the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System payment screen.


10. What information do I need to make a payment online?

To make a payment online you need a valid credit card or debit card number, billing name, billing address, and expiration date. For electronic check payments, a valid bank routing number and Savings/Checking account number are required.


11. Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?

Yes, you can print the payment receipt after completing the online process.


12. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license/registration?

No, the permit will not be issued until all application and fee payment requirements are met, and this process can take up to 10 business days. The printed payment receipt only verifies payment of your fee.


13. Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?

Online Support is available through the the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System Helpdesk at 1-877-452-9060 or by email to  the Consumer Protection Services Online Licensing System Help


14. If I am unable to log in to the permit renewal screen, whom do I contact?

If you have difficulties in logging in to the permit renewal screen or have any questions, please contact the Abusable Volatile Chemical Permit Program by telephone at (512) 834-6600 or via email to the  AVC Permit Program.


15. What browser versions does the application support?

The Minimum Browser Requirements are IE version 11+, Google Chrome version 30+, Firefox version 27+, Opera version 17+, and Safari version 7+.