• Contact Us

    Texas Diabetes Prevention & Control Program
    P.O. Box 149347, MC 1945
    Austin, Texas 78714-9347
    1100 West 49th Street
    Austin, TX 78756

    Phone: 512-776-7490
    Fax: 512-776-7408

    Email comments or questions to

Texas Diabetes Council Members

Texas Diabetes Council Council members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. They serve staggered six-year terms, with the terms of four members expiring February 1 of each odd-numbered year.

For information about appointment to the Texas Diabetes Council, visit the Governor’s website.

Membership includes:

  1. a licensed physician with a specialization in treating diabetes
  2. a registered nurse with a specialization in diabetes education and training
  3. a registered and licensed dietitian with a specialization in the diabetes education field
  4. a person with experience and training in public health policy
  5. three consumer members, with special consideration given to persons active in the Texas affiliates of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International or the American Diabetes Association
  6. four members from the general public with expertise or demonstrated commitment to diabetes issues
  7. three state agency members


Officers & Council Members
 Officers & Council Members

Texas Diabetes Council Officers
Kathy Ann LaCivita, MD
Vice Chair:
Curtis Triplitt, PharmD
Jason Michael Ryan, JD

Texas Diabetes Council Members and Terms
Name Position* Location Term Expires
Kathy Ann LaCivita, MD
San Antonio
Curtis Triplitt, PharmD 4
San Antonio 2-1-2019
Jason Michael Ryan, JD 5 Houston 2-1-2019
Aida "Letty" Moreno-Brown, RD, LD
El Paso 2-1-2021
Ardis A. Reed, MPH, RD, LD, CDE
Carley Gomez-Meade, DO
5 Austin
Feyi Obamehinti, Ed.D. 6 Keller
Felicia Fruia-Edge
Rancho Viejo
Joan P. Colgin, RN, BSN, CDE
John Griffin Jr., JD
6 Victoria  2-1-2019
William "David" Sanders  6 Dallas 2-1-2021
Manda Hall, MD (Texas Department of State Health Services) 7 Austin  
Lisa Golden, MA (Texas Workforce Commission, formerly Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services) 7 Austin  
Texas Health and Human Services Commission  7 Austin  

* Refer to membership details in numbered list above



Last updated October 19, 2018