Frequently Asked Questions about Medical X-Ray Registration

What is the deadline date for implementation of the radiation safety awareness training requirement specified in 25 TAC §289.227(m)(9)(E)?

View the DSHS Letter on Radiation Safety Awareness Training Delay Implementation (11-03-2015) (PDF, 37KB) sent to Registrants and other interested parties. Implementation of Radiation Safety Awareness Training Delayed Indefinitely.

Who can be a Radiation Safety Officer (RSO)?

Requirements for radiation safety officers can be found in §289.226, Registration of Radiation Machine Use and Services.

What are the responsibilities of the RSO? 

The responsibilities of the RSO can be found in §289.226 - Registration of Radiation Machine Use and Services.

25 Texas Administrative Code §289.226
Responsibilities of RSOs. Specific duties of the RSO include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • establishing and overseeing operating and safety procedures that maintain radiation exposures as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA), and to review them regularly to ensure that the procedures are current and conform with this chapter;
  • ensuring that individual monitoring devices are properly used by occupationally-exposed personnel, that records are kept of the monitoring results, and that timely notifications are made as required by '289.203 of this title;
  • investigating and reporting to the agency each known or suspected case of radiation exposure to an individual or radiation level detected in excess of limits established by this chapter and each theft or loss of source(s) of radiation, determining the cause, and taking steps to prevent its recurrence;
  • having a thorough knowledge of management policies and administrative procedures of the registrant and keeping management informed on a periodic basis of the performance of the registrant's radiation protection program, if applicable;
  • assuming control and having the authority to institute corrective actions including shut-down of operations when necessary in emergency situations or unsafe conditions;
  • maintaining records as required by this chapter; and
  • ensuring that personnel are adequately trained and complying with this chapter, the conditions of the certificate of registration, and the operating and safety procedures of the registrant.

How do I change the Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) RSO?

Notify the Agency in writing within 30 days by completing and submitting Form RC 42-R, Radiation Safety Officer . Forms not completed or signed will delay the amendment process.

Can a facility have more than one RSO?

No, the facility can have only one RSO per registration.

What name(s) are we supposed to put on the Business Information Form?

The form should state the 'Legal Name' and 'Doing Business As' name, if applicable, as filed with Texas Secretary of State Office. Form: RC 226-1 Business Information Form .

How long can a new facility operate without a certificate?

A facility must apply for a certificate of registration within 30 days of beginning use of radiation machines. Facilities utilizing Accelerators over 1 MV; Electronic Brachytherapy Systems; perform Mobile x-ray; or Self-Referred Screening shall have a Certificate of Registration prior to use.

What are the requirements for lead walls?

For questions regarding shielding requirements, contact the medical physicist associated with your facility. To locate a medical physicist in your area, visit the Texas Medical Board contact information page.

Does the Radiation Machine Source Group register MRI / ultrasound machines?

No. the agency does not regulate the use of MRI or ultrasound machines.

How long do we need to keep the x-ray films or patient reports?

The requirements for the retention of patient medical records can be located by contacting the appropriate board. (i.e. - dental, chiropractic or medical board).

What do we do for an ownership and/or name change?

Due to all of the variables in an ownership and/or name change, please contact the Radiation Machine Source Group at (512)834-6688 ext. 2225 for more detailed information.

We are adding a new location to our company, what do we need to do?

You can add an additional use location (subsite) to an existing registration if the new site operates under the same legal entity name the same tax identification number. Complete form RC 226-03 Radiation Machine Application Amendment Application .

What are the current fee amounts?

The current fees may be found in 25 Texas Administrative Code §289.204(j) or RC 204 RMSU Fee Schedule .

Do we need to send fees when adding a new site or equipment?

No, fees are due when applying for a new registration and every 2 years thereafter. Your facility will receive a renewal bill every two years.

Will we get a new certificate after we pay our renewal bill?

No, you will not receive a new certificate.

Why doesn't my certificate have an expiration date?

Dental, Podiatric, and Veterinary Certificates of Registration do not have an expiration date and the certificates are valid until they are terminated.

How do I get a duplicate/copy of the Certificate of Registration?

To request a duplicate or copy of the certificate, contact Open Records at RadiationControlOpenRecords@dshs.Texas.Gov

How can I verify that the agency has received my amendment request?

Contact the Radiation Machine Source Unit at

How do I dispose of x-ray equipment?

The following link will direct you to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) web site. Disposing of X-Ray Equipment in Texas


What is the process for terminating a site?

The registrant will need to submit a letter requesting termination indicating which site(s) to terminate & disposition of equipment or complete the RC-17-R Termination Form. The letter or form must be signed and dated by the appropriate person.

What is the process for terminating a registration?

The registrant will need to submit a completed RC- 17-R Termination Form or RC- 17-L Termination Form indicating disposition of equipment. The form must be signed and dated by the appropriate person.

Do I need to submit more than one copy of forms or other documents?

No, you can fax or mail the information, but you do not need to do both. However, new applications must be mailed along with the appropriate fees to the address indicated on the application form.

Can dental assistant students or any other students "practice" taking x-rays on each other?

No, students can not practice on individuals for training purposes. The requirements can be found in 25 Texas Administrative Code §289.227

Individuals shall not be exposed to the useful beam except for healing arts purposes and unless such exposure has been authorized by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts. This provision specifically prohibits intentional exposure of an individual for training, demonstration, or other non-healing arts purposes.