• Search this Program
    Customer Surveys

    Please let us know how we are doing by completing our customer service survey.

Advisory Committee - Youth Camp Program

The Youth Camp Advisory committee is appointed by the HHSC executive commissioner. The committee is to advise the executive commissioner in the development of standards and procedures; make recommendations to the executive commissioner regarding the content of the rules adopted to implement the Act; and perform any other functions requested by the executive commissioner in the implementation and administration of the Youth Camp Act. The advisory committee shall not exceed nine members. At least two members shall be from the general public, and seven members shall be experienced camping professionals who represent the camping communities of the state and should reflect the geographic diversity of the state in proportion to the number of camps licensed by the department in each geographic area of the state. The advisory committee meets at least annually and at the call of the executive commissioner or his designee.

Committee members shall serve for staggered six-year terms, with the terms of three members expiring on August 31 of each odd-numbered year. The committee may adopt rules for the conduct of its own activities and may elect from among its members a chairperson, a vice-chairperson, and a secretary. A simple majority of the members of the committee who are statutorily required to be appointed shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transacting official business. A committee member may not receive compensation or reimbursement of expenses for serving on a youth camp committee. Each committee shall annually select from among its members a chair who will serve as the presiding officer of the committee. The presiding officer of the committee shall preside over the committee. The committee is not a "governmental body" as defined in the Open Meetings Act. However, in order to promote public participation, each meeting of the committee shall be announced and conducted in accordance with the Texas Government Code, Open Meetings Act, Chapter 551.

Next Advisory Committee meeting: Wednesday, February 23, 2021 - 10:00 a.m. location to be determined

Committee Members

Youth Camp Advisory Committee Members
Name Affiliation
Mr. Andrew Burchfield

Burchfield Ministries International 

Mr. Danny Dawdy 

Highland Lakes Baptist Encampment 

Mr. Robert Miller 

BSA Standards Task Force 

Ms. Patricia Osborn

YMCA of Greater Houston

Mr. Allen Smith 

H. E. Smith, Ltd  

Dr. Brandon Briery, Ph.D.  

Children's Association for Maximum Potential (CAMP)

Ms. Victoria Price, LMSW

Public Member, Cook Children's Health Plan  

Ms. Leah Mesches

GIRLS Empowerment Network 

Mr. Dan Neal 

Camp Doublecreek 

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Recordings

March 3, 2021 - March 3, 2021 Youth Camp Advisory Committee (YC) Agenda - Texas Health and Human Services Commission (swagit.com)

Receive GOVDELIVERY updates by text/ email from Texas Health and Human Services Commission

Texas Health and Human Services Commission (govdelivery.com)

Last updated June 22, 2021