Texas Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke

Heart disease and stroke are two of the leading causes of death for Texans. As part of the DSHS Heart Disease and Stroke Program, we work to improve access to care and make the public aware and life-saving treatment.  

A variety of medical professionals are on the council including specialists in cardiology and stroke. There's also a licensed dietician, cardiac nurse, and Texans who have had or are caring for someone with cardiovascular disease or stroke.  The Governor appoints the members who are then confirmed by the Senate and serve for a term of six years.  

About the Council


During the 76th session of the Texas Legislature, lawmakers passed House Bill 2085, which included the creation of the Texas Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke.

Activities of the Council include the :

  1. developing an effective and resource-efficient plan,
  2. conducting health education, public awareness, and community outreach,
  3. improving access to treatment,
  4. coordinating activities among agencies within the state, developing a database of recommendations for treatment and care, and
  5. collecting and analyzing information related to CVD 

Pursuant to Chapter 93 of Texas' Health and Safety Code, Texas Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke Council members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. They serve staggered six-year terms, with the terms of four members expiring February 1 of each odd-numbered year. A nonvoting member representing a state agency serves at the will of the appointing agency.

Visit the Governor's website for more information regarding appointments. 

Council Composition

(A)  a licensed physician with a specialization in cardiology;
(B)  a licensed physician with a specialization in neurology to treat stroke;
(C)  a licensed physician employed in a primary care setting;
(D)  a registered nurse with a specialization in quality improvement practices for cardiovascular disease and stroke;
(E)  a registered and licensed dietitian;
(F)  two persons with experience and training in public health policy, research, or practice;
(G)  two consumer members, with special consideration given to persons actively participating in the Texas affiliates of the American Heart Association or American Stroke Association, managed care, or hospital or rehabilitation settings; and
(H)  two members from the general public that have or care for persons with cardiovascular disease or stroke; and
(I)  one nonvoting member representing each of the state agencies that oversee: health services; assistive and rehabilitative services; and aging and disability services.

2022 Council Meetings

All meetings are open to the public.

Next Meeting 

Date: TBD

Location: TBD

Webcast Link: TBD 

Future Meeting Dates 

Dates: TBD 

Resources from Previous Meetings

February 2022 Council Meeting Materials 

November 2021 Council Meeting Materials 

August 2021 Council Meeting Materials  

For meetings that occurred earlier than August 2022, please contact our team.  


Elected Members
Sort Icon Filter Icon
Sort Icon Filter Icon
Health Service Region
Sort Icon Filter Icon
Term Expiration*
Sort Icon Filter Icon
Stanley M. Duchman, MD Licensed Physician in Cardiology 6/5 S 2/1/2027
Janet (Hall) Hewlett, RD, LD Licensed Dietitian 7 2/1/2023
Neal Rutledge, MD Vice-Chair/Licensed Physician in Stroke 7 2/1/2023
Kyle Sheets, MD Licensed Physician in Primary Care 1 2/1/2023
Marcie Wilson, RN Public Health, Policy and Research 7 2/1/2027
Elie Balesh, MD Consumer Member 6/5 S 2/1/2025
Sherron Meeks, RN, PhD Registered Nurse 9, 10 2/1/2027
Vacant Consumer Member 2/1/2027
Suzanne Hildebrand Chair/Public Member 8 2/1/2025
Samantha Kersey Public Member 6/5 S 2/1/2025
E'Loria Simon-Campbell, PhD Public Health Policy, Research Practice Member 6/5 S 2/1/2025
Non-Voting Agency Representatives
Kelly Fegan-Bohm, MD, MPH, MA Texas Department of State Health Services
Chelsea Couch, CHES Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Karen Brajcki, MRC, CRC Texas Workforce Commission

* Voting members serve staggered six-year terms, with the terms of the members expiring February 1 of the year indicated.