CVD Council Members

CVD Council Membership

TCCVDS members appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Senate and serve staggered, six-year terms. Three or four-member terms end on February 1st of each odd-numbered year.

View the Texas statute that establishes this council. Read about the Governor's appointments for more information about serving on councils and the appointment process. 


Governor Appointed Representatives


Name City Membership Category Term Expires* Public Health Region
Stanley M. Duchman, MD Houston Licensed Physician in Cardiology 2027 6/5 South
Janet (Hall) Hewlett, RD, LD  Georgetown Licensed Dietitian 2029 7
Alberto Maud, M.D. El Paso Stroke Specialist 2029 9/10
Oscar M. Aguilar, Jr, M.D, MPH, FACC, FAHA
El Paso Licensed Physician in Primary Care 2029 9/10
    Public Health, Policy and Research    
Elie Balesh, MD Houston Consumer Member 2025 6/5 South
Sherron Meeks, RN, PhD  Odessa Registered Nurse 2027 9/10
Lourdes Cuellar Houston Consumer Member 2027 6/5 South
Suzanne Hildebrand
Live Oak Chair/Public Member 2025 8
Remmy Morris Round Rock Public Member 2025 7
E'Loria Simon-Campbell, PhD Houston Public Health Policy, Research Practice Member 2025 6/5 South

*Term expires February 1 of the year listed.


Non-Voting State Agency Representatives

Name Agency
Kelly Fegan-Bohm, MD, MPH, MA Texas Department of State Health Services
Chelsea Couch, CHES Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Karen Brajcki, MRC, CRC Texas Workforce Commission