Advisory Committee - Youth Camp Program

The Youth Camp Advisory committee is appointed by the HHSC executive commissioner. The committee is to advise the executive commissioner in the development of standards and procedures; make recommendations to the executive commissioner regarding the content of the rules adopted to implement the Act; and perform any other functions requested by the executive commissioner in the implementation and administration of the Youth Camp Act. The advisory committee shall not exceed nine members. At least two members shall be from the general public, and seven members shall be experienced camping professionals who represent the camping communities of the state and should reflect the geographic diversity of the state in proportion to the number of camps licensed by the department in each geographic area of the state. The advisory committee meets at least annually and at the call of the executive commissioner or his designee.

Committee members shall serve for staggered six-year terms, with the terms of three members expiring on August 31 of each odd-numbered year. The committee may adopt rules for the conduct of its own activities and may elect from among its members a chairperson, a vice-chairperson, and a secretary. A simple majority of the members of the committee who are statutorily required to be appointed shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transacting official business. A committee member may not receive compensation or reimbursement of expenses for serving on a youth camp committee. Each committee shall annually select from among its members a chair who will serve as the presiding officer of the committee. The presiding officer of the committee shall preside over the committee. The committee is not a "governmental body" as defined in the Open Meetings Act. However, in order to promote public participation, each meeting of the committee shall be announced and conducted in accordance with the Texas Government Code, Open Meetings Act, Chapter 551.

Next Advisory Committee Meeting: 

Wednesday October 2nd, 2024, 10AM

Robert D. Moreton Building- M-100
1100 W 49th Street
Austin, Texas 78756

Committee Members

Youth Camp Advisory Committee Members
Name Affiliation
Ms. Michelle Mauldin             

Camp Olympia

Mr. William Rotzler   Camp Fern
Dr. Brandon Briery, Ph.D.  Children's Association for Maximum Potential (CAMP) 
Ms. Victoria Price, LMSW

Public Member, Cook Children's Health Plan  

Ms. Leah Mesches

Austin Sunshine Camps

Mr. Dan Neal 

Camp Doublecreek 

Dr. Joaquina Kankam School of Solutions
Mr. Britt Eastland Camp Mystic
Mrs. Mitzi Stoute Faniola Mentor Texas Board of Directors, Advocacy Committee Chair

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Recordings

Meeting Handouts/ Presentations

Receive GOVDELIVERY updates by text/ email from Texas Health and Human Services Commission

Texas Health and Human Services Commission (