Stroke Designation

In 2005, Senate Bill 330 was passed during the 79th Legislature. The purpose of the bill was to develop a state emergency stroke treatment system. This allows responders to identify, transport, and treat stroke victims in appropriate facilities. The stroke designation rules went into effect on August 30, 2009. 

The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) has the authority to designate facilities. The Office of EMS/Trauma Systems Section of DSHS works with hospitals and Regional Advisory Councils (RACs) to:

  • Develop facility designation protocols,
  • Develop policies, and
  • Designate facilities in the state.

 

Stroke Facility Designation

The Brain Attack Coalition (BAC) recommendations are the department-approved national stroke standard requirements for Comprehensive and Primary Stroke Center designation per Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §157.133. The BAC requirements are located at: https://www.brainattackcoalition.org/

Documents

Fees

The non-refundable stroke application fees for a stroke designation period are as follows:

  • Level I stroke facility application fee is $100.00.
  • Level II stroke facility application fee is $100.00.
  • Level III stroke facility application fee is $100.00.

Facilities

Map

Policies

For the purposes of Stroke Facility designation, DSHS will accept certifications or survey results from these recognized organizations:

Get in touch

Texas Department of State Health Services EMS/Trauma Systems 
Attn: Stroke Designation Program 
PO Box 149347 MC 1876
Austin, TX 78714-9347
United States

For technical difficulties information,  process or rule clarification.

For technical difficulties information,  process or rule clarification.



 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Stay informed

To receive email notification of program changes or updates, please subscribe.