Public Health Region 8 - Overview

Texas Page Header Line

region8mapTexas Department of State Health Services Region 8 covers a twenty-eight county area of South Central Texas. This area borders the Rio Grande River and Mexico on the west and the Gulf Coast in the east. Region 8 contains almost every type of geographical setting that can be found in Texas to include rolling hills and plains, hill country, coastal plains, brush country and desert areas. The region had an estimated 2010 census of 3 million, with over half of this population residing in Bexar County.  The Region headquarters are located in San Antonio with a sub-office located in Uvalde and 13 field offices spread across the region.

Public Health Region 8 serves three separate Councils of Government (COGs). The eastern seven counties make up the Golden Crescent Council of Governments (COG 17) The central twelve counties compose the Alamo Area Council of Governments (COG 18 or AACOG) and the western nine counties make up the Middle Rio Grande Development Council (COG 24).


Last updated February 24, 2021